Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No-Name Power Supplies Can Prove Painful

  1. #1
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,041

    No-Name Power Supplies Can Prove Painful

    Power is the talk of the town in the PC industry, and for good reason. Nobody wants their desktop computer to double their electricity bill. But as much as we throw various power tweaks, myths, and all other kinds of electronic hocus-pocus back-and-forth, it's important to sit back for a moment and ...

    More...

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    I've been "burned" by Enermax in the past so even branded ones fail.

  3. #3
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan View Post
    I've been "burned" by Enermax in the past so even branded ones fail.
    Really? Wow, I thought they were supposed to be quite reputable...

    For my older systems, Generic seemed good enough... but with higher-end hardware, I wouldn't risk it, and definitely worth the money for the biggest/best PSU you can afford...

    My only gripe is the change in ATX plug design, that basically means a new PSU with each major upgrade...

    Anyone with 1kW PSU?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site View Post
    Really? Wow, I thought they were supposed to be quite reputable...

    For my older systems, Generic seemed good enough... but with higher-end hardware, I wouldn't risk it, and definitely worth the money for the biggest/best PSU you can afford...

    My only gripe is the change in ATX plug design, that basically means a new PSU with each major upgrade...

    Anyone with 1kW PSU?
    Ya my 425 watt Enermax failed close to a year ago. Replaced it with an HEC 550 watt and fortunately it's able to power up my new hardware.

  5. #5
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,366
    I have been using a 550 Antec TruePower for almost 5 years and I have had no problem. In my new PC, I have a OZ 600 with 4 12 v rails (for SLI). Power is the basic for the PC. After all, computing is but charge (or lack) of components

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Yeah I heard the TruePower's were good PSUs... I wanted that for my build but they sold out quickly, so got a coolermaster RealPowerPro 550w ... with SLI it's only using ~200W under load... so should be fairly stable...lol.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •