Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Codec needed for Win. 7 ???

  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Penna.
    Posts
    400

    Codec needed for Win. 7 ???

    I thought that Windows 7 included a codec to play videos ?? My videos do not start. Any suggestions for a good download to make the WMP play videos ?? Thanks, Mike

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    I can't reply from personal experience since I have not installed Windows 7. My research however, lead me to this site.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Penna.
    Posts
    400
    Thanks efc for the reply. I tried Xvid, and AC3 filter and no luck. I also tried FLV and VLC, also with no luck. Most of my videos DO play with just the regular WMP, but the one video does not play with anything I tried so for. Not a big deal, as someone, maybe even Microsoft will make improvements to the codecs that are included with Win 7, and everything will play.
    Thanks again, Mike

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    69
    Vista Codec pack works with windows 7, though it doesn't like mp4/quicktime files, but you can play them with media player classic.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Penna.
    Posts
    400
    Thanks thraxed, for the reply. I have tried several already, in addition to the one that is standard in Win. 7. Check the third post for the ones I already tried. If you have another one in mind, please give me a link. Thank you, Mike

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    You might need to run a small app that can determine the encoded header file of your video. It might be an obscure codec that requires a specific download from the manu's website...

    Google for "avicodec" and see if it's a handy app...

    Also, are you sure that the video actually works (like in XP/Vista)?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Penna.
    Posts
    400
    cash_site ... Thanks for the reply. I loaded a program called POWER DVD on the Win. 7 hard drive, that came with the computer and Vista. That program POWER DVD does open and play the last DVD I have that was not opening. So at least I can still view the DVD even though WMP will not open and play the DVD, but that is OK. Thanks again, Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •