Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Running Vista on a MacBook

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260

    Running Vista on a MacBook

    I have a new Macbook (the aluminium type) and I've heard Vista can be dual-booted on these quite easily.
    Does anyone have any tips, or links to sites advising on this? I don't really want to have to reinstall MacOs if avoidable.

  2. #2
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,050
    Quote Originally Posted by d000hg View Post
    I have a new Macbook (the aluminium type) and I've heard Vista can be dual-booted on these quite easily.
    Does anyone have any tips, or links to sites advising on this? I don't really want to have to reinstall MacOs if avoidable.

    Bootcamp. Google it or search for it at apple.com

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  3. #3
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Or just run it in a virtual machine. Virtualbox allows you to do this with no partitioning required. And it's FREE FREE FREE!

    Did I mention that it's free?

    www.virtualbox.org

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by rik View Post
    Or just run it in a virtual machine. Virtualbox allows you to do this with no partitioning required. And it's FREE FREE FREE!

    Did I mention that it's free?

    www.virtualbox.org
    I need to test the 3D rendering app I am working on on Mac/Windows, so I'm a bit worried anything like a virtual machine or Wine might skew my performance testing.

    How does a virtual PC work with saving stuff?

  5. #5
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    isn't boot camp part of the latest OS avail with a new mac?....hmmmm

  6. #6
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,050
    Quote Originally Posted by PIPER View Post
    isn't boot camp part of the latest OS avail with a new mac?....hmmmm

    Yes. Unbox that mac of yours, update the OS, and then configure a bootcamp partition and load XP/Vista/Windows-7 on it.

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    I used a VM just because I didn't want to partition my drive. Bootcamp should work fine tho.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    Well I installed Vista Ultimate on my MacBook using VirtualBox. It installed but was hideously slow. Also, it refused to let me install a nVidia Geforce 9400M driver, leaving me with a standard VGA display adapter.

    Think I'll delete this and use BootCamp for a proper install... but what's the deal with graphics drivers?

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Virtualization Software needs to emulate a type of PC by using a subset of the HOST PC's component specifications... i.e. 1gb out of 2gb RAM, or 20gb out of 60gb HD...

    Depending on the quality of the VM, they might allow 'pass-through' drivers access to the hosts actual hardware drivers... VGA is the classic example, as well as Audio drivers...

    Check compatibility mode on the Driver Setup executable.

    In anycase, a dedicated BootCamp session would be better (provide more performance) as you are using actual hardware

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •