Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Help: Start-up CMD.EXE

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    13

    Unhappy Help: Start-up CMD.EXE

    Hi, fellow XP users. I'm having a bit of a problem with starting up in WinXP. I have the Professional Edition of XP and so far, I love using it...even in my slow Pen III 128 RAM comp.

    My query involves cmd.exe. Whenever I (re)boot my comp, it takes a good while for everything to load up. Besides that, a black window with the title cmd.exe (with a folder address attached to the title: i.e. C:/WinXP/blah/blah) is also present.. and after I leave it on for a while, it starts closing..then re-opening itself in an endless cycle. The only way I can stop it is by attempting to reboot...in which my computer tells me that a couple of drivers failed to initialize because "Windows is Shutting Down". It's still there after I've completely rebooted, though.

    If anyone else has this problem and had solved it...or if anyone knows how to take care of this, please help me out. I'd really appreciate it. Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Welcome to the forum. Post often as we love a challenge..

    Look here to see if it is a shut down issue instead of a reboot issue. They can fool you sometimes. Let us know if this helps........
    Last edited by Tinker; October 15th, 2002 at 09:00 AM.

  3. #3
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Have you run a Virus scan ?
    CMD.EXE running on reboot can be caused by a Backdoor Trojan.
    When the CMD box appears can you take a screenshot of it,and post it here.
    As a temporary fix,type msconfig in the run box and press enter.
    On the Startup tab,look for cmd.exe and uncheck it.Click apply and reboot.When XP starts reloading you'll probably get a warning message saying you have chosen a Selective Startup,just ignore it.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    13

    Hmm...

    Thanks for the reply guys. Tinker-san, the problem isn't involved in any way to the system rebooting itself or hanging on the shut-down. I had already disabled the 'reboot' default that XP does due to some undesirable effects.

    I'll try the advice about a back-trojan. That's pretty logical too since I do a lot of things on the net. BTW, if I disable cmd.exe, how will it affect my computer? Is it possible that it might completely obliterate my XP if I attempted it? As a computer novice, I don't really know what cmd does (though I think it stands for 'command').

    Thanks a lot for the help!

    PS: how do I take a screenshot of my screen?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    To take a screenshot,
    hit the print screen button on your keyboard next to the F12 key and the SCROLL LOCK key. Then open up MS paint, start, all programs, accessories, PAINT
    The simple click edit and paste. Bam, there is your screen shot.
    Hope that helps,
    BB

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    cmd.exe is an ms-dos command prompt

    it should not open by default

    something is very wrong with your system

    virus?
    possible

    goto

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    do the free online virus scan

    its well worth it

    get trojan remover

    its fully functional free for 30 days

    http://www.simplysup.com/tremover/details.html

    scan your system for trojans

    Do you have a logon script running?
    If not be careful. Someone may have planted something in your computer to run at logon. Check your startup folder and the following keys in the registry.

    HKLU/software/microsoft/windows/currentversion/run and runservices

    HKCU/software/microsoft/windows/currentversion/run

    Make sure you don't have anything running that you don't know what it is.

    to check your startup folder

    click start
    run
    type .
    this will take you to your folder
    goto start menu/programs/startup

    delete anything you think should not be there

    i have nothing in mine
    this is the place windows looks when you boot into xp

    any shortcut here will auto start

    i have office and other programs but i still delete these shortcuts because i dont want things running in the background

    all my programs still start when i click on them

    also run msconfig
    i disable everything in the startup except my antivirus and firewall

    you can experament with what you want to start up


    please post your results and welcome to techzonez

    cheers
    egghead


    you may have the nimda virus
    it scans cmd.exe

    interesting read here
    http://www.gfi.com/news/press.asp?re...aworm&lcode=en
    Last edited by egghead; October 15th, 2002 at 06:34 AM.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Originally posted by Big Booger
    To take a screenshot,
    hit the print screen button on your keyboard next to the F12 key and the SCROLL LOCK key. Then open up MS paint, start, all programs, accessories, PAINT
    The simple click edit and paste. Bam, there is your screen shot.
    Hope that helps,
    BB
    Also,if you want to just take a shot of an "open window" and not the whole screen,press Alt+Print Screen and then follow Boogers instructions for pasting it into Paint.And save the image as a .jpg not .bmp,as jpg's are a lot smaller file size.
    Last edited by Reverend; October 15th, 2002 at 10:06 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    13

    Problem Solved, Another Created.

    I took the virus-scan advice and I found PLENTY of trojans and other worms in my PC. I also turned off all my excess start-up stuff, too to see if I can have a slightly speedier boot without hacking the registry (hardly seems possible..and it isn't in my case).

    When I rebooted the comp, it took a while to load so I went to school. When I got back, I got an error message saying something about failing to initialize iexplorer. It's not much of a hassle. A couple of clicks and I get rid of it pretty quick.

    Anyway, I'll try to fix this problem on my own. It's probably something to do with some of the stuff I turned off using msconfig.

    THANKS for all your help, guys. I really appreciate this.

  9. #9
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    glad to see you got it sorted out

    are you on a network?

    goto
    www.lavasoftusa.com

    get a program called ad-aware and check your computer for advertising spies

    this will mess you up

    after that download this program
    bootvis.exe
    http://www.microsoft.com/hwdev/platf...ot/BootVis.asp

    it will speed your boot times dramatically

    btw

    msconfig should not mess up iexplorer so you have to check on that

    more info on boot here

    http://www.microsoft.com/hwdev/platf...ot/default.asp

    btw

    when you run bootvis

    select trace menu

    optimize system

    it will reboot your computer after boot wait
    a message will eventually popup saying optimizing boot

    this is a great tool

    if you post more info on your setup and your programs

    i can get a good idea on what to do next

    cheers

    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    13
    are you on a network?
    Nope, my NIC is used just so my modem could communcate with my PC without having to sacrifice a USB port. My system runs a bit smoother than it used to be with the virii within it (don't really know if the plural for virus is virii or viruses *shrug*).

    I have a few other questions regarding XP, though that's been bothering me a bit.

    1) I've been looking at my task manager to see if I have any programs running in the background that I don't know about.
    Since I'm not in a network, what is "svchost.exe (SYSTEM)" for?

    2) How do I turn off the irritating 'script debugger' that pops up occasionally whenever I use internet explorer? (It started when I installed Office XP with Frontpage).

    3) My virus scanner found a virus 'ADVAPI.EXE', but I also find the same thing in my start-up list when I use msconfig. What exactly does it do?

    4) What kind of info would you like to know about my system?

  11. #11
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    1) svchost

    2) Tools > internet options > advanced tab. Put a tick next to Disable Script Debugging.Click apply.

    3) You probably have the NetDevil backdoor trojan on your system. Net Devil

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    13

    Thanks Thanks and MORE Thanks!

    Thanks a lot for helping out with those problems.

    I've really had a hard time handling XP before I even got to here. I'm sure to recommed my friends who's got problems (with XP, of course) to go here too. Never thought I could get some quick-fix answers. So far, I'm happy with how my computer handles right now, all thanks to you guys!

  13. #13
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    hi SystemError619

    you must check out this website to familiarize yoursely with the xp services

    some services are vital to operating xp
    others are just resource hogs

    have a look here and follow these steps
    http://www.blkviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm

    it will help you achieve the performance you desire and it will help you understand what is runnung in the background and what shouldnt be there



    4) What kind of info would you like to know about my system?

    amd or pentium?
    speed?
    motherboard manufacturer?
    graphics card?
    software installed....


    these kinds of things are important to us in helping diagnose computer problems and buggy drivers
    download belarc advisor

    it will tell you everything about your computer

    post here some results but leave out your ip address and mac adress and any personal info that may come up

    get it here
    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    cheers

    heres an example of what it does
    http://eggonthewall.netfirms.com/system.html
    Last edited by egghead; October 16th, 2002 at 22:43 PM.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  14. #14
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    man egg its time for a new hard drive 529 megs left on c:\ ouch.



  15. #15
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    your right!

    my other 20gog is in my old 750mgz

    i have a bunch of shows that i captured from tv
    \
    like fear factor, american idol finals and reuniun
    day of the dead
    dawn of the dead
    return of the living dead

    halloween movies

    a bunch of music video's

    the software list is not right as i just re-installed xp overtop of my old xp due to virus concernes that were false

    my programs directory is about 6 gigs so i must delete and re-install


    i have my eyes set on a 120 gig

    my other 40gig should come back from maxtors rma department soon

    nice program tho

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •