Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Laptop runs for 4hrs then I get an error message

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    163

    Laptop runs for 4hrs then I get an error message

    For the last few days IE8 seems to run for around four hours (eg I logged on at c.8am, then it crashed at c.12.30pm, then now at 4.30pm) and then without warning I get an error message:

    'The application failed to initialize properly (0xc000012d). Click ok to terminate the application.'

    At times the blue box that surrounds the error message says 'tskmgr.exe', at others 'dumprep.exe'.

    Ending IE8 on task manager does not work, I need to log off and on again.

    Can anyone help please?

    Also I hope I have posted in the right place, if not apologies!
    Last edited by LouBee; December 2nd, 2010 at 16:39 PM.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,041
    Do you have any spyware software running in the background? If so try disabling it temporarily to see if things improve.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    163
    Thanks Rev.

    It didn't make any difference. It's only after four hours of usage that it starts to play up!

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,041
    Is it a new laptop? If not, could be a RAM issue.

    What OS are you running?

    You could try disabling dumprep.exe. This is only used to send error reports to Microsoft.

    Disable Dumprep.exe in Windows XP:
    Right click 'My Computer' on the desktop and select 'Properties'.
    Click on the Advanced tab.
    Click the 'Error Reporting' button.
    Put a check in 'Disable error reporting'.
    (You can also choose to uncheck the box below it 'But notify me when an error occurs')

    Disable Error Reporting in Windows Vista:
    Go to Control Panel and click on 'System Maintenance'. (If you use Classic view in your Control Panel go to the next step.
    Click on 'Problem Reports and Solutions'.
    Click on 'Change Settings' in the left hand pane.
    Click the 'Advanced Settings' link.
    Select 'Off' for problem reporting.
    Click OK.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    163
    Thanks Rev. That was already disabled.

    A week ago someone sent me a .docx document and I had problems opening it, as my version of windows is earlier. Laptop's not been the same since. Do you think it could be related to that?

    I'm using Windows XP. The laptop is about two years old and was an old work one.

    How do I check how much RAM I have please Rev?

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,041
    Right click the 'My Computer' icon and select properties.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Reverend View Post
    Right click the 'My Computer' icon and select properties.
    Thanks. 2.00GB of RAM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •