Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Networking Blues

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    105

    Networking Blues

    My client has 3 machines. C and B both run Win98 and were happily networked
    together using a crossover UTP cable. He wanted the third machine (A)
    brought into the equation so I got him a network switch and some normal UTP
    cables. Machine C runs Windows XP.

    C and B plugged in and worked OK. Add A to the equation and the connection
    is bad. It's not that it doesn't work at all but that the connection is
    poor, eg. when I ping C or B from A I get maybe 40% OK and fast (<1ms) but
    the other 60% getting no response even with a 10 second wait! Needless to
    say trying to use Windows explorer to look at the network is a waste of
    time. It takes for ever to let me know that it can't get at the network and
    this is the case from any machine. C and B seem able to ping A (and each
    other) OK.

    The machines seem to be announcing their presence OK on the network in that
    I when I do 'ping <machine name>' it finds the correct IP address.

    I have set the system to have fixed IP addresses (192.168.0.1, 2 or 3) just
    so I know where I am (and they all have the same subnet mask of
    255.255.255.0!)

    I have checked all the following (and more)

    * The XP firewall is turned off.
    * NetBIOS is enabled over TCP/IP on all machines
    * No extraneous protocols are lying around (eg. NetBEUI)

    If nothing was working at all I'd feel I could track it down but it seems to
    be almost working and I can't help feeling that there's some flag set
    somewhere that is causing a problem.

    I've changed cables and ports but to no avail.

    The silly thing is that at one time machine A was connected to B with a
    crossover cable but since then the XP system has been rebuilt in some way.

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Hello Ken and welcome to Techzonez. Post often as we love a challenge..

    If you have not already look at this WOWN article have a look......

    What router are you using? I have a Linksys and start my IP's at 192.168.1.100 as suggested by Linksys.....

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    105
    Hi Tinker, thanks for the welcome!

    I don't know the make of the switch, just that it's an 8 port 10/100 job. The cables are all Belkin. The XP's NIC is also an unknown quantity but it's in a laptop and I suspect that it may be an integral part of the hardware. Maybe I need to find some way to test it. All NICs are running at 100MHz.

    The IP addresses I am using are 192.168.0.x but I wouldn't have thought that mattered unoless XP has its own agenda on some of these!

    Obviously all computers have unique names, the same workgroup name, etc., etc.

    Incidently the site you suggested was interesting but just defined all the steps I'd done. What I really need is a site which defines just the one step that I've missed!!

  4. #4
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    This networking can be a hair puller.....

    I have just fixed a similar problem on my home network. Even though all the symptoms are not the same this may help you some, I sure hope so. I have spent 6 hours getting mine going again and it still has a limp to it..

    Start by turning off ALL firewalls. Next use the Wizard to create a new work group. Try and use a unique name for the new group. USE THE XP SYSTEM to make the new work group. Follow the instructions on creating a floppy disk to transfer the XP work group to the other system with a different OS....

    You must always use the higher OS as the server as it were. I have Pro and Home and use Pro to setup the work group. It took me a few attempts to get it going so do not give up on it.

    Also make sure all the items in the group are turned on when making each setup.

    I hope this helps... Lets us know.....

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I'd say try this,
    Make sure you have QoS disabled on the XP machine.
    Download totalideas' tweakXP. I know for a fact it has a networking tweak that helps speed up the network.

    Try updating the drivers on all your NICs, including the laptop with XP.

    Next I'd try using a networking speed tester. There are several available. I have to go back to work now, but when I return I will try to post a few tools to test network problems.

    Last thing I'd try reinstalling all the OSes and try a fresh networking installation using the steps lined out by Tinker above.
    Welcome to TZ.
    LAN TESTING TOOLS:

    http://zdnet.com.com/3000-2086-8294316.html?tag=lst-0-2


    http://zdnet.com.com/3000-2086-10125...ml?tag=lst-0-7


    http://zdnet.com.com/3000-2203-866561.html?tag=lst-0-4

    http://zdnet.com.com/3000-2085-10132...l?tag=lst-0-17

    http://zdnet.com.com/3000-2085-15315...l?tag=lst-0-17


    Those are just a few of the LAN performance/connectivity testers that are available.
    Hope that helps,
    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; December 3rd, 2002 at 00:14 AM.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    105
    Thanks for the timps, all. It certainly gives me plenty of things to try!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •