Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: My thoughts on Phoenix the browser

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    My thoughts on Phoenix the browser

    Well, I tried out Phoenix for the first time today. All I can say is wow..
    I have been tempted to try it for a while, and now I can say it is better than IE. I download the file, installed it (took less than 1 minute), and have been impressed so far.

    There are tons of themes for Phoenix available here



    I am using QUTE PHAT theme with Phoenix. Looks great!

    Couple of other things that I like about it:
    1. the icons in the address bar work flawlessly.
    2. the popup stopper is effective and works great.
    3. It is fast, just as fast, if not faster than IE.
    4. It works perfectly with every site I have ever connected to.
    5. The bookmarks (favorites) seems much more organizable, more than IE. When you go to add a page to the bookmark, it lets you organize the bookmarks in specific folders.

    Couple of things I don't like:
    1. I cannot move the address bar, below the toolbar.
    2. Also, I don't like the Icon they chose, the mozilla icon. As it is called phoenix, why can't they use a unique icon, like a phoenix?
    3. I cannot scalably resize the icons in the toolbars.. It only allows two sizes, large or small, not medium size.

    Overall, I say this browser is worthy of usage and I recommend most of you who haven't given it a shot, to take the plunge. If I find after time other things that I like and dislike, I will definitely post it up in here.
    For now, I will be using Phoenix as my default browser.
    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; January 18th, 2003 at 03:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416

    Re: My thoughts on Phoenix the browser

    Originally posted by Big Booger

    Couple of things I don't like:
    3. I cannot scalably resize the icons in the toolbars.. It only allows two sizes, large or small, not medium size.
    You hear that Lynch ? get to work and help BB out... lynch is a great TZ-er , I asked him for some big juicy candy coated icons & he made Marvilla Brights.

    WoW 1 day and you like it that much wait till you use it for awhile , you'll go back to IE........for windows updates only..lol

    I had a hard time getting use to mouse gestures....oh well

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    That's just the tip of the iceberg
    Check out the extensions and themes here:

    http://texturizer.net/phoenix/

    http://www.deskmod.com/core.mod?show...t_name=phoenix


    http://home.attbi.com/~lynchknot/phoenix.html

    Customize Phoenix - http://flii.blomp.com


    Forum - http://www.mozillazine.org/forums/index.php

    I recommend at least Tab extensions If you have questions - just ask!

    You can move the address bar anywhere (within reason) you want







  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    How do you move the address bar below the Icons in the toolbar? I want it on another line, not right next to the icons.
    Thanks gents for the links.
    BB

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Originally posted by Big Booger
    How do you move the address bar below the Icons in the toolbar? I want it on another line, not right next to the icons.
    Thanks gents for the links.
    BB
    Go to View > toolbar > check navigation or bookmark > then Customize > you'll get a big drop down menu - from there you can drag and drop icons, url bar, google bar.

    Drag your addressbar to another toolbar

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    fastgame, if you hold ctrl down while you right click you can by-pass mouse gestures.

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Oh, yea. Do not get the nightly builds. The installer is broken. If you cannot install any extensions or themes you have a broken version. Best to download Phoenix 0.5 or .5 dec.28th build.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    thanks Lynch, its now how I like it.
    BB

  9. #9
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Now this just ROCKS!

    I am using the safrai theme that lynchknot made, way to go lynch. It is a very well put together theme and the tab bar is way cool!

    Phoenix seems to be a bit faster than IE but time will tell....

    Thanks fellow TZ'ers. By the way I downloaded .50.........

    How about a spell checker? Is there one for Phoenix like the one for IE?
    Last edited by Tinker; January 18th, 2003 at 15:22 PM.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    A few plugins that you will need:

    http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/windows.html

    They say for mozilla, but they work fine in phoenix.
    Below is a link to the spell checker for mozilla, though it is still in development:
    http://spellchecker.mozdev.org/

    But that is mainly used for composer and email..

    Below is a link to the Spell Checker for Netscape, which works with Mozilla, so it might work with Phoenix too.
    ftp://ftp.netscape.com/pub/netscape6...dows/win32/xpi
    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; January 18th, 2003 at 10:59 AM.

  11. #11
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Well I have loaded all the spell checkers that I can find and no luck. It says that they were lnstalled but I can not figure out how to use them.

    Any ideas?

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I have no idea Tink...
    Sorry, this is all new to me as well.
    What I do is I use this site:
    http://personalweb.about.com/gi/dyna...ellonline.com/

    then I put it in my bookmarks and anytime I have an issue with spelling I just copy and paste it in.
    Also, if I want to spell check the whole web page it lets me do it by entering the URL in their form and it will spell check the entire web page.

    Hope that helps.
    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; January 18th, 2003 at 12:06 PM.

  13. #13
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Thanks BB..... I will do the same until a proper spell checker is available for Phoenix......

    I have to have it!

  14. #14
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    From what I've been hearing at http://www.mozillazine.org/forums/index.php - there is a spell checker being developed. What I do, meanwhile is; I have msword on my quick launch - I just CCP when in doubt.

    Be carefull what you install - if it does not say Phoenix, don't install it. If you manage to break Phoenix though, it's easy to fix.
    Last edited by lynchknot; January 18th, 2003 at 15:13 PM.

  15. #15
    Bronze Member xsivforce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    186
    Think I'll give it a go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •