Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problems upgrading from XP Home -> Pro

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    65

    Problems upgrading from XP Home -> Pro

    This is driving me to drink!!!!!

    I'm trying to upgrade from XP HOME ->PRO and encountering a problem. First, after selecting to "upgrade" and entering the key, as expected, the machine reboots and i'm then met with a blue screen (something about "process1_initialization" failure - something like that - can't remember because I'm not home). I thought this was possibly related to my firewall, so I uninstalled the firewall. Now the Windows XP screen briefly appears then it goes blank. Constant "flickering" from the HD light, but nothing happening!

    Do I have to blow everything off the machine and do a clean install or is there something else that can be done to make this work?

    *pouring another drink until someone replies... LOL*

    Thanks.
    "If you want SQUARE work, you DON'T CUT CORNERS!!!!"

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    I found an article on the TechTV site indicating that an upgrade path from XP Home to XP Pro is not supported.

    Look in Table LINK
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    65
    Originally posted by efc
    I found an article on the TechTV site indicating that an upgrade path from XP Home to XP Pro is not supported.
    If such be the case, I guess I'm in for a long night... LOL Do I have to reformat the drive if I decide to install?
    "If you want SQUARE work, you DON'T CUT CORNERS!!!!"

  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I'm not sure about an upgrade but I did a clean install with no problems..................

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    when ever I do an os install I always back up my personal crap to a different partition and reformat and reinstall...but with xp sometimes I have to set my BIOS to default and then install...got some weird errors installing....also if you have any ghetto hardware take it out then put it back after xp is installed.



  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    This may help (step by step instructions for installing XP).

    LINK
    Last edited by efc; February 7th, 2003 at 17:54 PM.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    65
    thanks to all!
    "If you want SQUARE work, you DON'T CUT CORNERS!!!!"

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    65
    Well, I trashed the machine and did a new install over the weekend. Everything went well, so thanks to all for the help.
    "If you want SQUARE work, you DON'T CUT CORNERS!!!!"

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Welcome to the world of XP pro.
    BB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •