Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Abit AT7 Mobo

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Columbia Tennessee USA
    Posts
    10

    Wink Abit AT7 Mobo

    Has anyone overclocked this board and if so whats the steps to do so.

    Is there any where it shows you how to do it step by step and how to overclock memory.

    Ive messed around with the FSB and overclocked it alittle but want to really know how to tweak this board out to the max.
    I uped it a little and it was stable but didnt want to push it because i wanted to get a better CPU cooler any one that has any ideas let me know thanks....

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Unfortunately the main overclocking restriction with the KT7 is that the Via KT133 chipset doesn't like to be pushed much further than 110 fsb.
    I used to have a KT7 with a Thunderbird 700 and the highest i managed to push it was just under 900mhz. (105x8.5)
    Luckily the Thunderbird was a factory unlocked version so i was able to adjust the multiplier settings to 8.5 from the default 7.

    What cpu are you running,and what is the maximum speed you have obtained from it?

    I highly recommend this site;

    http://www.viahardware.com/faq/kt7/kt7faq.htm

    you should find some useful info there.
    Last edited by Reverend; May 13th, 2002 at 21:20 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Columbia Tennessee USA
    Posts
    10

    Lightbulb

    Im running a XP1900 locked and a Winfast Geforce 3 64 DDR THD
    video card .
    Im looking for some memory that overclocks well any ideas.

    and is it hard to unlock the CPU?

    when you overclock you turn up the FSB and if it gets unstable you turn up the Voltage to the cpu right?

    how about the memory theres voltage ajustments in the bios
    to turn up the voltage is this how you crank up the mem?


  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I would leave the cpu locked,and adjust the fsb.
    When you increase the fsb,raise the voltage in very slight increments each time.But bear in mind the higher the voltage,the higher the temp.
    Get some good quality CAS2 "Crucial" RAM and set your bios memory timings to "CPU+PCI" or "FSB+PCI" clock.(depending on which bios you have)

    Crucial RAM here

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •