Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: My new hardware

  1. #1
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044

    My new hardware

    My new hardware has arrived. :bblob:

    Will be installing it later on.

    Pics: All hardware | Motherboard | GF4 Ti4200 | psu

    Abit KD7-S mobo
    MSI GeForce4 Ti4200 128mb 8xAGP DVI,VIVO,TV-OUT
    AthlonXP 2600+ (333FSB)
    2 X 512MB PC2700
    431W Enermax PSU. (Fan adjustable)
    Last edited by Reverend; May 31st, 2003 at 08:07 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  2. #2
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    Nice Rev,Abit's are very dependable mobos.I just broke down and bought an AMD XP 2800+ Barton chip for my Asus A7N8X D board.Went with a Zalman flower heatsink and fan setup.What are you cooling your's with?
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  3. #3
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    A Coolermaster with copper base.
    Rated up to 3000+,so it should be plenty good enough for my 2600 as i don't intend on overclocking.

    Right,i'm off to install this lot.
    To quote the famous last words of Captain Oates.(Scott Expedition).

    "...I may be gone some time"
    Last edited by Reverend; May 31st, 2003 at 08:52 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Good luck!

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    That should be a very nice setup

    When you get it all going maybe you could show Lynch how to really ride a bike in MotoGP2

    Good Luck !
    Last edited by FastGame; May 31st, 2003 at 12:11 PM.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Let's see the benchmarks

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Originally posted by FastGame
    That should be a very nice setup

    When you get it all going maybe you could show Lynch how to really ride a bike in MotoGP2

    Good Luck !
    lol- i just installed this game yesterday - i'm at 2:04 (edit) at Suzuka - i'll probably need to be under 2:00 to give him a good race - by next week -
    Last edited by lynchknot; May 31st, 2003 at 18:37 PM.

  8. #8
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    OK guys just an update.
    All the hardware is installed and I am currently doing a reformat.(typing this on my laptop).

    I was hoping to do a repair on my original XP installation and force it to recognize the new hardware,but unfortunately it wouldn't have it.

    Gonna be busy all night reinstalling all my software.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Have fun. Rev. As soon as you get all the software installed as you want, back it up so the next install will be complete.

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    At last,the reformat is done and all drivers installed.
    Originally posted by Thor
    As soon as you get all the software installed as you want, back it up so the next install will be complete.
    Yep will do Thor,gonna buy another HDD just for backups.

    The annoying thing is i had a partition on my HDD with all my backup stuff on.About 30 gigs worth.But i had to completely wipe the Hard drive so that XP would install.(when i added all the new hardware and booted up it wouldn't recognize the other partition.)

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Well muchacho,
    How's that new rig? How does it perform compared to the other machine you had? I am sure with that chip/mobo/gpu combination, you've noticed an improvement in the performance of daily operations.

  12. #12
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    So what made you decide to go with the VIA KT400 chipset instead of NFORCE 2?

  13. #13
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    Nice Set up.
    Do you want me to send you my PSU?? Probably is the only high tech in mY pC compared to what is listed in this site.
    Antec 550 Wats with bay (which can hold an 3 1/2 drive) with controls for Fan Speed and 3.3 v, 5v and 12 v
    TrueControl 550 . Changing the PSU alone decreased the Noise level in my PC so much that now the neon light won't activate unless I talk

  14. #14
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    So Rev, is it much faster than the P4 setup?

  15. #15
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Originally posted by Conan
    So Rev, is it much faster than the P4 setup?
    Yeah definately a big speed increase.Very impressed with the MSI card.It produces rich,vibrant colours and has a lot of tweaks on offer.Although i'm currently running it at default clock settings.No need to overclock it as it is plenty fast enough at default.

    Sandra benchmarks are good.Here's my 3DMark 2001SE & 2003 scores,both at default options.(using Det's 44.03).
    Not sure how good they are as i haven't run the online browser comparisons.
    Last edited by Reverend; June 8th, 2003 at 18:28 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •