Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: agp440.sys hanging on startup

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    agp440.sys hanging on startup

    I am having this same problem for the second time. When XP was first released I had this problem and wound up reformatting. I will be out of the works for a while. I am at work now on my laptop.

    I was trying to capture some video from my VCR and my capture card hung. It wouldn't unlock no matter what I tried so I pressed and held the power button to shut it down. When it rebooted it hung on the WIndows XP boot screen.

    I tried hitting F8 and booting to last known good configuration, I tried safemode, debugging mode, safemode with networking, safemode with command line, none of it worked. They all hang on that agp440.sys file :P

    I checked this site:
    http://www.computing.net/windows2000...rum/21602.html

    I tried changing the BIOS settings as it suggested and nothing works.

    I did swap video cards and the system boots fine so I know it is the video driver causing the issue. I will try a repair install, and if that don't work, I will do an install over the existing installation, back up my files and then back to a clean boot

    Thank god, I was getting sick of not having troubles Gets boring when you don't have something to fix or repair.

    Will let you know if it works.
    Last edited by Big Booger; June 30th, 2003 at 03:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    I had the same problem with agp440.sys on a system that I sold to a friend. Wound up being a HDD S.M.A.R.T. Problem, I had to RMA the HDD. The HDD was a Western Digital 100 Gig drive.

    I could run anything I wanted by booting from the floppy with Win 98 boot disk. I trouble shot the problem for about 2 hours and then it started coming up with the S.M.A.R.T. error.


  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    The crucial point is, if I throw a new video card in, it works great. The card that is causing the problems, works flawlessly. I checked it out in another machine. I don't get this problem. Well I am currently trying everything I can before I do a repair install.

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Seems to be a common problem as mentioned HERE

    Solutions cover the gamut from re-installing the video card drivers to an EasyCD update patch for XP to renaming the file to .old and , again, re-installing the video drivers. There may be many other fixes in the thread.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324764

    I will most likely try that first
    then try to rename the agp440.sys

    Hopefully it will work.

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852

    Question

    Just by the by, what type of video card was it, and what version driver did you have installed??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Nvidia Geforce 4 TI4200
    Driver version 44.03 from Nvidia.

    Driver worked fine. I think it was because I shut it down while trying to capture video that caused it this time.

    Still working to get it up..

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Have you tried using Driver Cleaner?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    running a repair install right now.


    I just tried the repair, it failed. Now installing over the existing installation..
    Last edited by Big Booger; July 1st, 2003 at 13:21 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •