Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: xp activation

  1. #1
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,180

    Thumbs up xp activation

    I was looking through my old copies of PC Magazine and came across this interesting info on XP Activation. After you install and activate your OS...go to the windows system folder and look for a file called Wpa.dbl and wpa.bak ....copy it to another disk etc. then when you need to do a reinstall, changing hardware etc, just go to the source where you copied the wpa.dbl file and update it in the windows system folder rename the current and add the backup files....no more activation calls, won't work with major puter overhalls .
    Last edited by PIPER; July 17th, 2003 at 11:21 AM.

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Yep I've read that too.

    Handy!

  3. #3
    Junior Member PCWriter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portland, Oregon U.S.A.
    Posts
    3
    Actually, that is only useful if you need to format your root drive and re-install Windows XP.

    If you have altered the hardware in any fashion, it throws off the hash code in wpa.dbl and you are required to register (only speaking of when you apply the SP1 update to your system).

    Yet, if you are hit with a virus, worm, or trojan and need to do a format and clean install, this method is extremely handy and time-saving.
    Read my monthly columns at:
    http://www.users.t-3.cc/pcwriter

  4. #4
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Nice tip, Im sure this will come in handy and be a real time saver.

    But would it still work if you only change a couple of hardware items, ones that wouldnt require an activation??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Originally posted by cash_site
    Nice tip, Im sure this will come in handy and be a real time saver.

    But would it still work if you only change a couple of hardware items, ones that wouldnt require an activation??
    If your changes are minor it will still work.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I used this same tip with longhorn once

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •