Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Floppy not read

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    Floppy not read

    Hello, is it possible that my floppy drive is not working because it is turned off in bios? I put a floppy in there and the light comes on but nobody is home...............

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    I guess it's possible, but you would have had to disable it manually.

    Chances are that if you disabled it in the BIOS, it wouldn't show up in Windows though. So the question is, does it show up in My Computer?

  3. #3
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    Could be the ribbon cable is on backwards or the pin 1 is not lined up with the red stripe side.Or the connections are loose.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Originally posted by zipp51
    Could be the ribbon cable is on backwards or the pin 1 is not lined up with the red stripe side.Or the connections are loose.
    Sounds, as zipp51 said, as if the cable is backword.

  5. #5
    My Name is.... TZ Veteran Stripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    live?
    Posts
    892
    I would agree with Zipp...loose connections...

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Aren't the cable ends notched as well as the jack they attach to?

    Under properties it says that this device is working properly.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    The floppy is the one device that can be hooked up backword. Usually when that happens the light stays on and the drive can't be accessed.

    Look At Google Groups at the myriad of querys about the floppy light staying on and no access and the vast majority of answers point to the same thig,........backword connection.

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    The only time the light goes on is when I click the icon in my computer and it says to insert disk into drive A when there already is one in there.

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Ahhh........well, in that case try what I did just recently for a 'sticky' drive. Keep inserting/removing the disc for a period of time and see if that does anything. Make sure the disc is dropping in correctly. That's after checking the connections anyway. It's obviously is not reading that the disc is there. Mine did the same thing and that's what fixed it. It, in my case, may have something to do with my using the floppy rarely lately.

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    LK,does this happen with all disks or just the one?

    Have the Disks been formatted under XP,or were they formatted using another OS.

    Pop a blank Disk in and right click the floppy icon,then select Format.When the format is complete copy some files to it.Then take it out and then put it back in.

    Can you now read the contents of the floppy?

    Sometimes floppies formatted under a different OS cannot be read by XP.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    With any disk blank or not. When I click format the light comes on then it says there is no disk in drive A.

  12. #12
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    That's the exact problem I had. Either the read arms were sticking or the disc wasn't seating properly. Either way repeated inserts/releases fixed the problem.

    Wait lemmee check......................................
    .........................................................................
    ............................................................................
    ............................................................................
    ............................................................................
    .....I'm slow .........yep, still works.
    Last edited by Thor; July 16th, 2003 at 19:46 PM.

  13. #13
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I took the cover off and slammed it in there - hehe, it works now -

  14. #14
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Originally posted by lynchknot
    I took the cover off and slammed it in there - hehe, it works now -
    A useful technical tip:

    If in doubt......give it a clout.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  15. #15
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Muscle power!!!!! Way to go!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •