Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Isdn

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Angry Isdn

    I need help as im not very technically minded altho i am ok with installing Hardware, new drivers etc.

    I have an ISDN Internet connection as ADSL is not available in my area and isnt likely to be.
    I had no trouble untill lately when i bought a new motherboard.
    An Asus A7N8X Deluxe.

    Since i set it up with my existing set up, XP1800 CPU 512DDR Ram
    2 HDs CDRW and DVD ive had connectopn problems.

    My connection seems fine on Mirc however (i have a 2Hour cut off) when i play online games or download and im using bandwidth i lose the connection every time and the time is random (ie no 20 mins like the disconnect if idle), it can be 5 mins or 55 mins.

    Ive had the line checked by BT ive also called my ISP who say no problems their end.

    If i set my old PC up which is an old PC with my old motherboard and my One ISDN Modem, its fine again, also if i try the USB Modem that comes as standard with the New set up i still have the problem which rules out a modem problem.

    Ive tried disabling various parts of the new Mobo to no Avail, ie Sound, Lan, USB 2.00.

    Im at a total loss and it seems im not alone ie

    http://www.btsuck.org/?article=126

    Similar problems but no solution.

    If anyone has any ideas please reply to this thread or mail me.

    darrylhe@lineone.net

    Ta

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    which nic are you using that board has the nvidia and 3com nic onboard or are you using a pci nic. if so try disabling the onboard. or try reinstalling the drivers and only enable one to test.



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    Nic

    Im using the onboard Nvidia

    (XP Pro OS BTW)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4

    MMMMMM

    OK i checked the Bios, ive already got 3com and 1394 firewire disabled. Dont know what an a97 modem controller is for.

    Prob is still here tho.

    Is it worth trying a PCi Lan card ??

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    I have the same board and am using the 3Com connection on cable without any problems. Try switching nics. I haven't gone through your 'gripe' link yet so................

    I have lost connection occasionally but not due to the nic. Others in my area experienced the same thing but calls to support always got the same answer..."Everything fine on this end."

    Shadow_Warez seems to be the A7N8X resident guru.
    Last edited by Thor; July 16th, 2003 at 19:00 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •