Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: All Nforce 2 users report

  1. #1
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416

    All Nforce 2 users report

    Just thought it would be nice to see what the TZ members have their NF2 boards set at and if they are happy with the NF2....

    My rig Abit NF7-S Rev 2.0
    XP 2400 10.5x @210 fsb, vcore 1.75, 2205mhz
    2x512 Crucial PC3200 Dual Channel @210fsb 2.7volts
    ram timing 11-3-3-2.5

    My xp2400 is at the limit and for some reason it gets unstable at a higher vcore so 1.75 it is The Abit Rev 2.0 overvolts the ram to 2.7 so even if I set it at 2.5 or 2.6 it's still 2.7, that's ok because 2.7 is a fine volt for ram this is not the case with the Rev 1.2 board...


    In Test
    with the INTEL P4 boards the Crucial PC 3200 ran @400fsb with the timing (SPD is 8-3-3-3) of 5-2-2-2 and it was some of the best ram for the P4. This is not the case in the NF2 as the Crucial won't even post at CAS2, it would blow my bios to pieces if I tried & this has been reported by other Crucial users as well it runs great @CAS2.5

    Overall I'm very happy with this setup and other than the problems I had getting ram to run at 400+fsb the system is fast, stable & trouble free!

    Sons rig Abit NF7-S Rev 1.2
    XP 2100 12.5x @180fsb, vcore 1.75, 2250mhz
    2x512 Kingston HyperX PC2700 Dual Channel @180fsb 2.6volts
    ram timing 7-3-2-2

    The XP 2100 is a better chip than my XP 2400 and has reached 2300+mhz with ease, maybe I'll swap when he isn't looking The Kingston ram is another story it runs fine in single channel @SPD of 5-2-2-2 and 333fsb, I never could get it over 333fsb @SPD nor would it run @SPD in dual channel even at 333fsb! 7-3-2-2 works great Newer Rev of this ram is out and the latest bios seem to help but HyperX is not recommended nor approved by Kingston for the NF2 boards.....

    This system is also fast, stable and trouble free=

    My experience with the ASUS A7N8X-D is the same as the above...3 NF2 boards and I've been a happy camper =

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    Well my experience with this board has been lets say very educational. . All I can say is I love it. I have the A7N8X deluxe.
    My only con about this is that the NF2 boards especially mine is it is very picky with the ram it uses. I was using some samsung and bought some kingston value ram which was approved on Asus site. but damn thing would not post it it was set to 333. but after Fastgames donation of some 512 of crucial. This board is now rock solid. And with my 1700xp the overclocking capabilities of these boards are tremendous has alot of options to dial these boards in tight. my current settings are:

    A7N8X deluxe rev 1.04 Uber 1004 bios
    1700xp= 12@166fsb@ 1.65v = 2400xp
    512 pc2100 Crucial @ 166@7 2 2 2.5

    recently tried to oc it to 2.1g(2600xp) but it will not stay stable enough for my liking. I believe it could be that the ram is at 166 already. but gonna leave it be a 1.4 @ 2gigs for $40 bucks cant beat it.



  3. #3
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    Got to say Im very pleased with my EPOX 8RDA+ board, it kicks ass over my previous VIA board. Alot more reliable with all my USB connections, as my previous one used to chime out my USB after a while.
    This board benchmarks well in comparison, and my system has never been more stable in default or o/c mode

    EPOX 8RDA+ Rev:2.0
    2200XP 11.5@166fsb
    512 pc3200 Crucial
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by phishhead
    A7N8X deluxe rev 1.04 Uber 1004 bios
    1700xp= 12@166fsb@ 1.65v = 2400xp
    512 pc2100 Crucial @ 166@7 2 2 2.5
    Are those ram times correct ? the reason I ask is because I couldn't get that ram stable @7 2 2 2.5, the best I could do was 7 3 3 2.5..maybe thats why your CPU won't go higher without you can also raise your Tras from 7 to 8 or 9 for more stability and it shouldn't slow you down

    @ zErO are you running your CPU & ram @sync 166fsb ? have you tried CPU & ram @200fsb sync ? that Epox, Cpu and ram are a shoe-in for 200fsb

    That Epox board is a 400+FSB monster
    Last edited by FastGame; July 22nd, 2003 at 19:19 PM.

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    hey your on to something FG will try it when I get home. So set it to 7 3 3 2.5 @ 2.7v and cpu to 12.5@ 166@ 1.75



  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Must of been some mix up on the timings I would say thats why you got slower when you went to 12.5, happen to me before.....

    Try raising the Tras from 7 to 8/9, I'm running mine at 11 because it's faster @200fsb than 7,8,9 but @166fsb 7,8,9 work good and you can use the Prime95 benchmark (not torture test) to see how much speed you gain or lose Even though a higher Tras is a more relaxed timing it doesn't affect the speed like raising the CAS...also more stable

    7 3 3 2.5 for a start then try 8 3 3 2.5 or 9 3 3 2.5 should work a treat

  7. #7
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    Originally posted by FastGame
    zErO are you running your CPU & ram @sync 166fsb ? have you tried CPU & ram @200fsb sync ? that Epox, Cpu and ram are a shoe-in for 200fsb

    That Epox board is a 400+FSB monster
    Yeah Iwas a little concerned at pushing it up to 200fsb until I get a better hsf, when I get the time to pick up a new one then it should sit comfortably at those speeds. My current hsf is from my old board which only went to 133 fsb
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  8. #8
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    well I used those setting FG 9 3 3 2.5 @ 2.7 and 12.5 @ 1.75 passed prime and memtest, but only got a 250 increase in 3dmark01. Now the bad thing my cpu temp went up about 4-5degrees. So I set everything back. I figured a 100mhz increase wasnt worth the worries of overheating.



  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Did it go up 4 or 5 deg F ? or C ? turn the v-core volts down and test now that you know it was the ram timing...prolly turn the ram down to 2.6 now

    BTW that board has ASUS COP and it'll shut you down before the CPU gets to hot...

    Remember phish that your GFX card is now the bottle neck in your system so your not going to see a bunch of improvement in 3Dmark 2001, even though 3D-01 is cpu bound its not going to turn a GF4mx into a Ti4400 by using a XP 2600

    Want to see if an OC is worth it or not ? use SuperPi 1M= I'm down to 47sec

    Bottom line if your happy and stable where you are now then leave things as they are

    @zErO
    Last edited by FastGame; July 23rd, 2003 at 01:26 AM.

  10. #10
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    My Rig; Asus A7N8X Del
    2800 Barton
    512 HyperX Kingston PC 2700


    Good stable board.Runs everything fast.Mem will run at 200mhz.Thanks FG for the Super pi tool I'll try it.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  11. #11
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by FastGame
    Want to see if an OC is worth it or not ? use SuperPi 1M= I'm down to 47sec


    @zErO
    He-he, sorry to barge in. I just did SuperPi in 32 seconds!

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Hey!! what are you doing here? raining on our parade...lol

    Nice score Conan now whats your 3D 2003 score...hehe

    Next time knock first

  13. #13
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by FastGame
    Hey!! what are you doing here? raining on our parade...lol

    Nice score Conan now whats your 3D 2003 score...hehe

    Next time knock first
    I know, I know Nvidia loses to ATI. Hey I looked for an ATI card to start with, but nobody keeps them in stock here!

  14. #14
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    well 57 secs here



  15. #15
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by Conan
    I know, I know Nvidia loses to ATI. Hey I looked for an ATI card to start with, but nobody keeps them in stock here!
    Thats ok Conan I understand, would be kinda nice if you would hold off on GFX upgrade...give me time ta save up for a P4 & Canterwood

    I would hate for ya to have ta "barge in" all the time and make me feel old & slow

    Yo Intel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •