Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: rundll32.exe - entry point not found error

  1. #1
    My Name is.... TZ Veteran Stripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    live?
    Posts
    892

    rundll32.exe - entry point not found error

    What do you make of the following error:

    Title: Rundll32.exe
    error: The procedure entry point RemoteAssistancePrepareSystemRestore could not be located in the dynamic link library WINSTA.dll

    All I do is right-click on the My Computer Icon and go to properties. Happens everytime.

    This started happening after I ran a repair on Windows. I'm beginning to seriously dislike the Windows Repair feature. It's 0 for 2 now.

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    found this on the net

    found at winforums

    Insert your XP CD, click Start > run and copy the following rundll32.exe advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection C:WindowsInfsr.inf

    followed by OK





    maybe it will help?
    Last edited by egghead; July 22nd, 2003 at 17:36 PM.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    If eggs suggestion doesn't fix it,the other solution i've found on a few sites is to reinstall XP SP1a

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    just a rule of thumb. is whenever it asks for the windows orginal cd to replace files always rerun the servicepack..especially on repairs or system file checks. I always reinstall sp1 after doing this. Stripe Tony S. hooked me up with that one. so good source of info.



  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Phish, thats a good thumb - very wise LOL. But how do you tell if you have SP1 or SP1a ?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Originally posted by phishhead
    just a rule of thumb. is whenever it asks for the windows orginal cd to replace files always rerun the servicepack..especially on repairs or system file checks. I always reinstall sp1 after doing this. Stripe Tony S. hooked me up with that one. so good source of info.
    Or you can use a slipstreamed XP disc for maximum convenience



    @cash
    I'm not sure if there's a way to tell if you have SP 1 or 1a, but according to M$ it doesn't matter as they are essentially the same

  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Differences Between Windows XP SP1 and Windows XP SP1a here

    On September 9, 2002, Microsoft released Windows XP SP1. On February 3, 2003, Microsoft released SP1 again as SP1a.

    So if you downloaded the SP on or after 3rd Feb 2003 it is more than likely you have got SP1a installed.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Nice one, thanks Rev.
    To determine if you are running Windows XP SP1, right-click My Computer, and then click Properties. If "Service Pack 1" appears under System, you are already running Windows XP SP1. There is no benefit to installing SP1a if you are already running Windows XP SP1. Microsoft does not recommend that you install SP1a if you are already running SP1.

    Windows XP SP1a is the same as Windows XP SP1 except that the Microsoft virtual machine (VM) is removed in SP1a.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •