Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need a good guide for setting up dual Nic's

  1. #1
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049

    Need a good guide for setting up dual Nic's

    Does anyone know were I can get a good guide for setting up dual nic's on my pc. Basically I have installed 2 nic cards into the one machine, instead of adding a hub/router. I am having problems getting the 2nd nic enabled , as I wont to use it for an Xbox connection. So I can just keep the xbox hooked into my pc without having to change the connections for xbox live.
    just to lazy to bend down to change over the leads
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Not for sure why the second nic would not work I have 3 nic's in one box and they all work fine. This is a silly question I know but does the nic show good in DV?

  3. #3
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    The second nic is showing good DV, I used to use it in my system before I upgraded my board so now Im using the onboard one. But for some reason I cant get it enabled now that I have 2 in my box??
    I want to bridge the connections but cant do this until its enabled
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    try changing the slots. Also try finding the latest drivers for the NICs.
    It could be an IRQ conflict but I doubt it. Have you checked each NIC separately to make sure they both function?

    I have two NICs installed and both work flawlessly.

  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    There may be a setting that wont allow PCI NIC to work concurrently with the onboard NIC ie sound and vga problems.

    There may be a fix for it or drivers etc.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    hmm I will try a different pci slot and see if there are any latest drivers for this nic, its probably just something simple
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •