Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Bb Help!

  1. #1
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    Exclamation Bb Help!

    i need your help this keeps commin up any idea how to stop it?

    http://www.angelfire.com/super2/shad...images/wtf.JPG
    Last edited by Reverend; August 11th, 2003 at 07:59 AM.


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    In the command line type: shutdown.exe \a

    then confirm it by pressing y and then ENTER

    NB - Make sure you do it from the directory that shutdown.exe is in. Try also to work out what application is calling shutdown.exe.

  3. #3
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    Exclamation found the prob

    it was a service, remote call procedure, funny thing is i cant disable or shut it down, so i found a work round the recovery options i chose when it fails instead of restarting, i chose do nothing for all the options, and it hasnt comlplained, odd this is a new instalation as of 3 hours ago,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Have you run the updates to this machine? Service packs?

    Seems like someone could be taking advantage of your machine if you haven't:

    http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/261537


    Especially if you are running some kind of server either file or web.

  5. #5
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    no server yet,

    well my servers arent up nd iv slipstreamed the latest service pack into my cd,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    use Boogs tip,and also read this thread and follow the links posted by Me & FG.

    http://www.techzonez.com/forums/show...&threadid=6374

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    no go

    all my services are screwed, thier showing up blank, i think its time to format,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  9. #9
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    okay this is gettin wierd.

    me, gimmie, and a freind of mine are all gettin the same RPC Server error.
    Last edited by Reverend; August 11th, 2003 at 22:25 PM.


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    USE MY TIP.

    If after everytime you restart your PC you are getting the remote Procedure Call problem and it restarts your PC automatically,
    MAKE SURE TO UNPLUG YOUR NIC FIRST!!!!

    Just pull the ethernet cable out, restart, run my tip, then plug it back in and your problem is solved.

  11. #11
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    tryed same prob lol,

    im not suer why or how this is happenin, that was the first thing i tryed, ill show ya what ime gettin since i tryed to restart the service,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    If that tip does not work, try this one:
    when message appears, telling you system will shutdown, run "shutdown.exe -a", and it won't reboot.

    Let me know if that works.

    u can use dameware nt utilities to uninstall the rpc service in its service view if u would like or to completely disable it.. DWNTU can be found at

    Daemonware NT utilities

    once installed run dameware... type in ur ip or the name of ur computer eg (homecomp) or whatever.. ur computer will be displayed below.. look for the services section of the menu.. open the expanding menu.. then double click on "services view".. this will list all services running and not running on ur sytem... search through for the rpc server once found it right click on it and in the menu choose "remove service..." this will remove it from ur system and ur problem is fixed...




    That should also help. Just remove the service.
    Last edited by Big Booger; August 11th, 2003 at 22:55 PM.

  13. #13
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    not good,

    i cant move fiels from folder to folder or partition to partiton if its disabled,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  14. #14
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...n/MS03-026.asp

    Did you try that update above?

    Something else to try below:

    it's actually very easy to fix even if you are already affected by it on your pc. all you have to do it start your pc with your network cable unplugged. go into msconfig and take msblast.exe out of the start up. then open task manager and end the process of msblast.exe. go to your windows/system32 folder and delete msblast.exe. run the patch and you're done


    Another update and info page below:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;823980



    I believe Reverend posted articles on those two knowledge base articles above.


    well,
    Then I'd say you're in for a reformat if none of that above works. Go get a 6 pack of buzz beer, and order a pizza.


    What do you mean you can't move files from folder to folder or partition to partition.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    This says it all:

    To exploit this vulnerability, the attacker must be able to send a specially crafted request to port 135, port 139, port 445, or any other specifically configured RPC port on the remote computer. For intranet environments, these ports are typically accessible, but for Internet-connected computers, these ports are typically blocked by a firewall. If these ports are not blocked, or in an intranet environment, the attacker does not have to have any additional privileges.

    Best practice recommendations include blocking all TCP/IP ports that are not actually being used. By default, most firewalls, including the Windows Internet Connection Firewall (ICF), block those ports. For this reason, most computers that are attached to the Internet should have RPC over TCP or UDP blocked. RPC over UDP or TCP is not intended to be used in hostile environments, such as the Internet. More robust protocols, such as RPC over HTTP, are provided for hostile environments.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •