Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Kerio Avast and OE 6

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    71

    Kerio Avast and OE 6

    Hey

    I do use xp home with avast. After all the worms I wanted to install Kerio firewall - but can't check mails with firewall turned on Avast changes ports smtp y pop to 127.0.0.1

    Ruben

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Well sorry I can't give you a precise answer to your issue, but I can make a recommendation:

    Try Sygate Personal Firewall. It works flawlessly with OE, is simple to use, and provides decent protection.

    THe following site gives a rundown of the features, and also offers other trial and free firewall solutions if Sygate is not the one for you:

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...id,8132,00.asp

    Hope that helps.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    71
    yes I know - I even have a licence somewhere out there but I felt it very heavy on ressources - are they doing better now??

    Ruben

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    it uses about 6 MB of ram, and depending on how much traffic it has to block it runs from idle up to 12-20%cpu, and only if there is heavy traffic blocking (for ex. if you are using the peer guardian list and running kazaa)

    guess it all depends on what you consider heavy. Others on here use it and I am sure they can chime in with their opinion on it.

    ANother one that I have yet to use is that Outpost firewall,
    http://www.agnitum.com/download/outpostfree.html

    I've heard great things about it, and they have a free version.

  5. #5
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    I was using Kerio,Tiny Personal,Zone Alarm(not all at once),and got wise with the help of this forum by taking Big Booger's advise,by trying Sygate Personal firewall.Like BB says it works flawlessly with IE 6.I also have MSN8 and no probs there either.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    71
    But where do you download it - the link they have on their site goes to nowhere

    Ruben

  7. #7
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by tosbsas
    But where do you download it - the link they have on their site goes to nowhere

    Ruben
    This is for the free version:

    http://smb.sygate.com/download/download.php?pid=spf

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by Big Booger
    Try Sygate Personal Firewall. It works flawlessly with OE, is simple to use, and provides decent protection.
    "decent protection" ?...lol, how about excellent protection

    Sygate #1

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Spot on fastgame. I just didn't want to gloat.

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I do believe a certain person called "Reverend" first recommended Sygate.

    GLOAT,GLOAT !!!

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by Reverend
    I do believe a certain person called "Reverend" first recommended Sygate.

    GLOAT,GLOAT !!!
    True, true! But if I didn't get you to try Norton Internet Security, you would still be using XP's built-in firewall!

  12. #12
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Originally posted by Conan
    True, true! But if I didn't get you to try Norton Internet Security, you would still be using XP's built-in firewall!
    Nah,i've always used Sygate.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Can you seriously call Xp's built in thing, a firewall ?

    LMAO

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    71
    hey friends -
    I like Sygate too - but can't get the free version downloaded. The page they give on sygates page is down

    Ruben

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    http://download.tucows.com/perl/wind...160_90233.html


    Try that one.


    Just select the mirror site that is closest to your location.
    Last edited by Big Booger; August 14th, 2003 at 12:04 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •