Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: nOOboy

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27

    nOOboy

    Hello there,

    Being 'real' new to this sort of guff, I'm calling on you old hands for some general advice.....I would like to update my machine for minimal costs (don't we all) and would like to get into recording music at home...set-up a mini DAW (I have the software).
    I currently have an old AMD duron machine that runs at 433mhz...got 128mb ram, some small hdd's (3...don't ask), usual DVDCDROM, cd writer etc etc...I would like to build my own(saw the excellent tomshardware stuff on that)...I'm happy with the monitor, keyboard, mouse etc...
    Is there an AMD vs. Intel site that I haven't found?! I've been advised to stick with AMD....
    Ok, I know thats 'real' general, but any thoughts (regarding the post) would be appreciated ,

    dt

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    How much would your budget be for this upgrade? Are you going to use any of your old stuff like cd/rw drives or do you want everything to be brand spanking new?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    RAM, HDD, CPU, SOUND CARD (if you want to be serious make this the best card you can buy),

    Honestly, on a budget of $700 US, 435.107 GBP, this is what I would get:

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    512MB PC3200 DDR Memory -- (NOT clocked 2700) In Stock - True 400MHz DDR Lifetime Warranty
    (Part - 64X64PC3200)
    Price: $73
    Ship 1 : $4.97 Insured Ground
    Updated:8/14,_1:32AM


    2X512MB PC 3200 DDR RAM, about $160.00, 99.4886 GBP
    with shipping.


    You could leave it at 1 stick for $73 and add another stick later.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    AMD Athlon XP BARTON OVERCLOCK CPU TO XP 3200+ @ 2.2 GHz 400MHz CPU 512K CACHE W/ VANTCH AEROFLOW VA4-C7040 COPPER CORE HEATSINK AND FAN RETAIL BOX W/ OCZ ULTRA 2 SILVER THERMAL COMPOUND Price: $189
    Ship 1 : FreeAirborne@HomeStandandGroundService
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_1:08AM

    $189.00, 117.510 GBP including shipping, AMD Athlon XP 3200 with 400Mhz FSB, (this is an overclocked chip, most like an Athlon XP 2400. IF you want stability this might not be the best for you, in that case I would go with the following:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 2.17GHz 3D NOW! (Socket-A) 333FSB Processor - CPU OEM AMD Athlon XP 2700 2.17GHz 3D NOW! (Socket-A) 333FSB Processor - CPU Price: $118
    Ship 1 : $7.89
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_10:10AM

    $125.00, 77.7255 GBP
    You could always overclock that AMD 2700 to a slightly higher level.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Chaintech
    Info...

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    7NJL3 nForce2 chipset 400FSB, DDR400, AGP8X, ATA133, 6Ch Audio, Lan - ATX (Retail Box) nForce2 SPP/MCP, Support AMD Athlon XP upto 3200+, 5PCI, 6 USB2.0
    (Part - 7NJL3)
    Price: $61
    Ship 1 : Free Shipping!
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_8:35AM


    $61, 37.9264 GBP including shipping for a chaintech AMD NForce2 motherboard in retail box. Supports all teh latest technology.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    80.0GB EIDE 7200 RPM, 8MB, 8.9 ms, (OEM, PRIVATE LABEL, 9 Months Warranty) 80.0GB EIDE 7200 RPM, 8MB BUFFER, 8.9ms, Ultra-ATA/100. Same day shipping. Price: $ 74
    MinOrder: 1

    Ship 1 : $5.79 UPS GROUND
    Updated:8/4, 9:07 PM

    $80, 49.7395 GBP for a Western Digital 80Gigabyte HDD with 8MB buffer, 7200RPM rotational speed, 8.9ms and Ultra ATA/100

    You can always add more space if you need it later for under $100 US.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum (audigy2 Platinum) 70SB024000005 B/BOX Audigy2 Platinum, PCI, 24-bit/192KHz , SB1394 Port, PLatinum Package, SURROUND SOUND 6.1
    (Part - 70SB024000005)
    Price: $ 153
    MinOrder: 1

    Ship 1 : $5.00 - 7.89
    Updated:8/13, 10:59 AM
    $160

    In your case this this is the MOST NEEDED component. $160, 99.4886 GBP including shipping, for an Audigy 2 Platinum series with all the bells and whistles.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    ATI/Sapphire Radeon 9100 128MB DDR TV/DVI OEM / Bulk ATI /Sapphire RADEON 9100 128MB DDR AGP8X OEM CRT/DVI TV-OUT Price: $63
    Ship 1 : $7.89
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_10:37AM


    And finally a video card, since you are not going to do gaming, I found a decent but cheap card, a $70.00, 43.5155 GBP Radeon 9100 128MB DDR, with TV/DVI, and 8X AGP *(compatible with the chaintech motherboard above)


    The total with the SECOND AMD 2700 CPU ($125), 2 sticks of 512 PC3200 DDR ($160), Chaintech MOBO ($61), Western Digital 80GB HDD ($80.00), Audigy 2 Platinum Card ($160), Radeon 9100 128MB ($70), comes to a grand total of:

    $656, 407.915 GBP and some change. You may also need a new case with a 400watt+ Power Supply, which you can pick up a cheap one for between $39-$120, 24.2443 GBP-74.5898 GBP.

    And then use your Old PC to store files, run a website, surf, etc...


    All prices were quoted from http://www.pricewatch.com

    If that is too much, just let us know what your budget is and I am sure one of us can find a grand deal for you.
    Last edited by Big Booger; August 14th, 2003 at 10:06 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Sorry, I know I've been vague....I think I need to start with a new HDD (is external better?!) RAM and a new CPU - having limited knowledge (still learning), I'm not entirely sure what my mobo/chipset guff is (ASUS sound right?) - and I'm at work at the min, so can't check til later!.....I'm happy with my monitor, graphics card, cdrw, keyboard, mouse.....I don't need a hugely fast machine...just something a bit juicier! ...oh budget...cheap as chips! lol without the HDD (mate might have one) is under 200 too cheap??!?!

    thanks for your help,

    dt

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Big Booga, like i said, i was a bit vague on requirements!! but thanks for your suggestions!
    And I think I'm kidding myself on prices as well!! lol

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    ok 200 pounds, 321.688 USD

    No HDD, no video card, I'd go with a new MOBO CPU, Sound Card (MOST IMPORTANT) and RAM:


    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    512MB PC3200 DDR Memory -- (NOT clocked 2700) In Stock - True 400MHz DDR Lifetime Warranty
    (Part - 64X64PC3200)
    Price: $73
    Ship 1 : $4.97 Insured Ground
    Updated:8/14,_1:32AM


    1X512MB PC 3200 DDR RAM, about $73, 45.3810 GBP
    with shipping.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 2.17GHz 3D NOW! (Socket-A) 333FSB Processor - CPU OEM AMD Athlon XP 2700 2.17GHz 3D NOW! (Socket-A) 333FSB Processor - CPU Price: $118
    Ship 1 : $7.89
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_10:10AM

    $125.00, 77.7255 GBP
    You could always overclock that AMD 2700 to a slightly higher level.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Chaintech
    Info...

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    7NJL3 nForce2 chipset 400FSB, DDR400, AGP8X, ATA133, 6Ch Audio, Lan - ATX (Retail Box) nForce2 SPP/MCP, Support AMD Athlon XP upto 3200+, 5PCI, 6 USB2.0
    (Part - 7NJL3)
    Price: $61
    Ship 1 : Free Shipping!
    Will Ship: Same - 1day
    Updated:8/13,_8:35AM


    $61, 37.9264 GBP including shipping for a chaintech AMD NForce2 motherboard in retail box. Supports all teh latest technology.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum (audigy2 Platinum) 70SB024000005 B/BOX Audigy2 Platinum, PCI, 24-bit/192KHz , SB1394 Port, PLatinum Package, SURROUND SOUND 6.1
    (Part - 70SB024000005)
    Price: $ 153
    MinOrder: 1

    Ship 1 : $5.00 - 7.89
    Updated:8/13, 10:59 AM
    $160

    In your case this this is the MOST NEEDED component. $160, 99.4886 GBP including shipping, for an Audigy 2 Platinum series with all the bells and whistles. SEE BELOW for an alternative that puts this setup in your price range.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    The total with the SECOND AMD 2700 CPU ($125), 1 sticks of 512 PC3200 DDR ($74), Chaintech MOBO ($61), Audigy 2 Platinum Card ($160), comes to a grand total of:

    $420 US, 261.146 GBP


    you could scrimp and get an audigy 2, without the platinum features for a lot less..

    ONLINE ORDER ONLY -
    Creative Labs Sound blaster Audigy 2. 70SB024400000, THX certified, 24 bit, (Bulk) IEEE 1394 port, sound blaster Audigy 2 6.1 PCI (OEM) Audigy2. Price: $ 65
    MinOrder: 1

    Ship 1 : $4.70
    Updated:6/20, 8:23 PM
    $69

    $69.00 audigy 2 without the Platinum features would bring this down to your exact range.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The total with the SECOND AMD 2700 CPU ($125), 1 sticks of 512 PC3200 DDR ($74), Chaintech MOBO ($61), Audigy 2 Platinum Card ($70), comes to a grand total of:

    $ 330 US, 205.207 GBP That would do it I'd say. Might want to get a new Power Supply if your case is in good condition.
    Last edited by Big Booger; August 14th, 2003 at 10:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Welcome to Techzonez.

    If you can let us know what Mobo you've got as soon as poss,then we can determine what configuration of CPU/RAM it supports.

    To get a rough idea of prices for CPU/Mobo's You may want to head over to the 3 retailers listed below.They offer some good deals.I buy most of my hardware from them.

    http://www.aria.co.uk/

    http://www.dabs.com/

    http://www.eclipse-computers.com/
    Last edited by Reverend; August 14th, 2003 at 10:21 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Thank you for your help! My learning curve will be sharp! I'll try and figure out what the hell I've got and I'll get online later!

    thanks again,

    dt

  9. #9
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    That's half the fun when you are starting out..working out what you've got and what can go with it...and turning it into a beast..or at least a mini-one

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Ok, more non exciting tales of my AMD Duron - my mobo is a K7S5A with chipset SIS735 - as I said I've 128mb ram, SB16 card and an MX400 NVIDIA GEFORCE 2...think thats it - I was checking out prices as advised, but not sure about the whole FSB speeds and what I would need.....my machine runs good, but with speeds heading into the stratosphere, I thought I'd better at least get one more rung up the ladder!

    Again, thanks for your support, I can see myself annoying the sh*t out of you all in the future with lotsa 'basic' questions!

    dt

  11. #11
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Ok,your mobo is perfectly adequate for your requirements.For a budget of under 200,I would recommend just upgrading the CPU,RAM & the Soundcard.I presume you are running XP.

    AMD Athlon XP 2200 [1.80GHZ] (RET) 61.10
    512MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM 59.93
    Creative SB Audigy 2 Player OEM 56.11
    or
    Video Logic SonicXplosion 49.35

    Delivery 7 - 9

    Prices quoted are from Aria .All items are currently in stock.

    What wattage is your Power Supply Unit (PSU) ?
    Last edited by Reverend; August 14th, 2003 at 23:39 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  12. #12
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Originally posted by Reverend
    Welcome to Techzonez.

    If you can let us know what Mobo you've got as soon as poss,then we can determine what configuration of CPU/RAM it supports.

    To get a rough idea of prices for CPU/Mobo's You may want to head over to the 3 retailers listed below.They offer some good deals.I buy most of my hardware from them.

    http://www.aria.co.uk/

    http://www.dabs.com/

    http://www.eclipse-computers.com/

    I would also add for pricing that

    http://www.ebuyer.com is probably the best

    or you could try http://www.komplett.co.uk

    Komplett specifically do good "bundles" which include much of what you need

  13. #13
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Originally posted by Richard
    I would also add for pricing that

    http://www.ebuyer.com is probably the best

    or you could try http://www.komplett.co.uk

    Komplett specifically do good "bundles" which include much of what you need

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/kl.asp?A...tID=44&GrpID=&

  14. #14
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    Welcome to Techzonez dt1.I totally agree with Reverends picks for your budget,this would give you a fine audio editing machine.However if your ECS motherboard is not a pro then it will not support the thoroughbred processors.So just to be safe you may have to settle for a Palamino xp 2100+ and a bios upgrade.Not sure if the xp 2200+ cpu's are all thoroughbreds.I upgraded two systems with the K7S5A ,and about 5 now with the K7S5A Pro.The Pro will take up to a xp 2600+/266FSB.There are actually 5 models of the K7S5A (revisions 1.1,3.1,3.1B,K7S5A+ v1.0,K7S5A2 v1.0A.Then there is the Pro which is the newest one.These are all good low end socket A boards dt1 but if you do some research work for your upgrade you can get an idea on what you actually have.The ECS website will help you identify your mobo.Here is the link.ClickHere .The revision numbers are located right on the board so get your magnifying glass out.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Save up a bit more and go with a complete machine for around 400 pounds, case, motherboard, CPU, Ram, Video, Sound, the works. The only thing I'd recycle would be the drives, CDRW, DVD, HDD.

    And then sell or use your other PC as a backup machine. Definitely splurge on the soundcard. I think for you, this is the most important component of your system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •