Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Network problems in a domain....

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    82

    Question Network problems in a domain....

    Hi!!

    we have a little network problem in our doamain.
    on some pc comes files with CRC errors!??!
    for this reason
    I'm looking for some "GOOD" tools to analyzing our network.
    The network include:

    Windows 2000 servers + Windows 2003 server + Windows 2000 Workstations.


    Can someone give me some tips for a good analyzing application that
    I can use to check the problem!?


    thx



    gicio

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    A Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) Error is an RMON statistic that combines "FCS Errors" and "Alignment Errors". These errors indicate that packets were received with:


    A bad FCS and an integral number of octets (FCS Errors)

    A bad FCS and a non-integral number of octets (Alignment Errors)
    CRC Errors can cause an end station to freeze. If a large number of CRC Errors are attributed to a single station on the network, replace the station's network interface board. Typically, a CRC Error rate of more than 1 percent of network traffic is considered excessive.


    Are you getting these errors throughout your network? Or are they localised to one machine?

    How are these machines connected? Wireless? Ethernet? USB? Switches, Hubs or Routers? etc..

    Are you looking at software that can analyze traffic, as in thoroughput, packet loss, etc...?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    82
    - the error are localised to min. 3 machines.

    - Ethernet , Hubs (connected)

    - looking for some tools to analize what I get CRS errors on those
    machines.




    gicio

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Do you happen to have spare NICs lying around? I'd say try exchanging the NICs on the machines that you are having issues with if you can. If not, I'll try to hunt you down a tool that may be able to help.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    82
    I have exchange the NICs.
    and still the same problem.

    I need you tool



    gicio

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    82

    Thumbs up

    thanks!!!!


    gicio

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •