Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Is your Ad-ware 6 the correct version?

  1. #1
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064

    Arrow Is your Ad-ware 6 the correct version?

    Have you been wondering why there has been no updates for your Ad-ware 6. Check this out. I downloaded it and it updates just fine now. The scan was also very quick..

    Please Note Build 181 is now available! Support is no longer available for previous builds and reference files.

    Ad-Ware 6 build 181


  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i found this out a week ago and needed to download the program to get the updated ref file.

    what are you waiting for?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    601
    Yea.

    Good find Tinker.

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Maybe I've just been lucky but I'm running build 160 and it has been able to update ok...but regardless, Thanks for the update info.

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    I justs dl'd the update file and put it in the proper folder..............seemed to work ok except it wanted to dl an older update. I cancelled that update, scanned and it seemed to work fine. Found a couple of new cookies.

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Originally posted by Thor
    Found a couple of new cookies.

    MMMmmm...... Cookies!!!!!!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Yeah, Yum yum. Chocolate Chip!

  8. #8
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680

    Re: Is your Ad-ware 6 the correct version?

    Originally posted by Tinker

    Please Note Build 181 is now available! Support is no longer available for previous builds and reference files.

    Ad-Ware 6 build 181

    That's what's missing from my latest XP installation, Ad-aware!!

    Rest assured I'll have it on tonight

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Originally posted by Thor
    I justs dl'd the update file and put it in the proper folder..............seemed to work ok except it wanted to dl an older update. I cancelled that update, scanned and it seemed to work fine. Found a couple of new cookies.
    So this does work, great. I heard that you had to upgrade the whole program to get new updates, but had the Pro version and didnt want to loose its extra features.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Registered users

    If you still have your download information for Ad-aware 6, you can use the download link, password, and user name as provided to download the new build. If you have not received your notice by mail, please contact general@lavasoft.de for download information.


    Lavasoft Forum


  11. #11
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    Originally posted by cash_site
    So this does work, great.
    Seemed to work with mine but I've since done the upgrade??? which is actually a downgrade.

  12. #12
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Originally posted by Thor
    Seemed to work with mine but I've since done the upgrade??? which is actually a downgrade.
    Do what?

  13. #13
    Triple Platinum Member Thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    917
    ?????

    I dl'd the new ref file and installed it manually into version16+ and it worked for me. AdAware is saying you have to update as they were no longer supporting earlier versions.
    Last edited by Thor; September 8th, 2003 at 12:49 PM.

  14. #14
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    From what I have seen so far that works for some and for others it reloads the old ref file. Go figure...

    To get the "Check for new updates" link to work you will have to upgrade to 181. At least that is what worked for me. I just yesterday dl a new ref file with 181...


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •