Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Conecting a Close Circuit LAN and a Bussiness LAN

  1. #1
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406

    Conecting a Close Circuit LAN and a Bussiness LAN

    OK, Here is my problem of the week.
    I was asked if we could find a way to put email to the security gate here.
    We just installed a close circuit camera. The cameras are digital and send the information over fiber. So for the cameras, and the security software everything is in a LAN, with no access to the outside world. IT is like that in order to have it secure.
    Now, not everyone understand the risk of having it connected, so I have to find a way to connect to that LAN securely, so email (or other alternative) can be send.
    IMHO is a stupid idea, because there is a reason to have the LAN isolated, but what do I know??? I am not the boss
    So, I am open to suggestions. I was given 2 days to come up with something before that LAN gets connected to our LAN thru a dual NIC workstation.
    My fear with that is worms and viruses, and not to talk about hackers. Out network is not very secure since we still have Windows NT which is a pain to update (if i CAN FIND AND UPDATE)
    sUGGESTIONSS??/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Some secure LAN connection settings and setups at the link below:

    http://www.practicallynetworked.com/...g/securnet.htm


    Other than that, you'd want to put a firewall that is password protected. That way you have to input a password/username before you are granted access to the LAN.

    Below is a great article on securing a router:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,5831,00.asp

    Hope that gives you some ideas.

  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    Here is an extra spice. There has to be no Internet in that LAN. Only the email capbility, or if we give them access to Internet only to specific sites.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    yeah,
    with a password protected router, you can block port 80.. in fact, I'd say you could block any port you like..

    As for email, do you mean email as in hotmail email or as in a company run mail server?

    If so, why not run your own private mail server.. in house.

    You'd just need to dedicate one PC as the mail server.

    Then configure all the other machines to connect to it.

    Below is a great guide on how to set this up.

    http://www.youngzsoft.net/cmailserver/server-3.htm

    The system requirements:

    1) Hardware: CPU P166+, Hard disk 1G+, RAM 32M+.
    2) Software: Win98/Me/NT/2000/XP. If you want to install web mail server,

    * For Win98/Me, you should pre-install PWS(Peer Web Server). On the installation disk of Win98, there is a PWS setup program in directory add-ons\pws.
    * For WinNT(version 4.0 or above), you need to pre-install IIS(Internet Information Service).
    * For Win2000/XP, Win2000/XP IIS is installed by default. If you haven't installed IIS, you need add IIS using control panel->Add/Remove Programs -> Add/Remove Windows Components.
    * Microsoft Access 2000 or Access 2002 SP3 is installed.


    And the setup guide seems simple enough:

    http://www.youngzsoft.net/cmailserver/server-3.htm
    Last edited by Big Booger; September 17th, 2003 at 07:18 AM.

  5. #5
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    I was actually thinking about running our own mail server too. Or open a pop account with some provider, and get the email from the pop account.
    They cannot connect to our email server because we use Exchange and it is forwarded from our ISP, which is the state (complicated)
    Tks boogs, I will be working in a desing, and I will pots the results in case anybody also passes thru this
    It will take a while thought, since it is a work project, so everything is made in state deadlines (never on time)

  6. #6
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Originally posted by Big Booger
    Below is a great guide on how to set this up.

    http://www.youngzsoft.net/cmailserver/server-3.htm

    The system requirements:

    1) Hardware: CPU P166+, Hard disk 1G+, RAM 32M+.
    2) Software: Win98/Me/NT/2000/XP. If you want to install web mail server,
    Looks like a good app BB. Thanks

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    It looked easy to configure and setup. The requirements were next to nothing.. you could run this on a P2 based machine with very little worry.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •