Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Maximized Windows!!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    10

    Maximized Windows!!!!

    Hey all,

    This has been bothering me since I first started using windows.

    Usually when I open a window, MSIE for example, it doesn't fill my screen. This usually happens soon after installing windows and closing a small window. All the new windows come up in that small size.

    I guess my question is...how do you reset the windows so that when you open them they ALWAYS maximize to full screen.

    Thanks
    Han

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Hi Hanguker!
    Welcome to Techzonez!!!



    Maximize Internet Explorer On Opening
    Problem: When Internet Explorer opens it can range in size anywhere from that of a postage stamp to almost filling the screen. Clicking the maximize button works for that particular window but the next time you open IE the same situation repeats.

    Solution: The default behavior for Internet Explorer is to open at the same size it was at the last time it was closed. While the default does apply in many cases it's not always consistent. Try the following workaround.

    Open a single Internet Explorer window to the smaller size.
    Drag the corners of the window until it completely fills the screen. Do not use the maximize button to enlarge the window.
    Hold down the Ctrl key, keep it depressed, and using the mouse click File and then Exit on the menu bar. Do not use the "X" in the upper right corner to close the window.
    Internet Explorer should now open in a full window.
    If it still opens to a smaller size repeat the above instructions, substituting the "Shift" key for the "Ctrl" key.

    hope this helps
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    10

    Thanks

    Thanks a lot. That worked great. You guys are a godsend here . keep up the good work.

    Sincerely,
    Han

  4. #4
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    glad to help

    cheers
    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  5. #5
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Eggheads advice is the best solution and it's what I did many moons ago when I had your very problem, but I have something else to add.

    Sometimes a website will size the browser window automatically. If this is the last IE window you close, then it will remain as the default size and you will have to reapply egg's solution.

    I found a program which will automatically maximise your IE windows everytime one is opened. It's called IE Maximiser (funny bout that) and can be found here: http://www.jiisoft.com/iemaximizer/index.htm

    It's freeware too

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Conan,

    I tried the IEMaximizer and it works well. However, it eats up 3.5 Megs of memory just to maximize IE windows...doesn't quite seem worth the memory cost when I can just adjust it now and then. Better yet, I think M$ should address this issue in their next update giving users an option to always have windows maximized.

    Thanks everybody,
    Han

  7. #7
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Originally posted by hanguker
    Thanks Conan,
    Conan would be some other bloke...

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by SupaStar
    Conan would be some other bloke...
    I welcomed him in another thread so maybe it was still in his memory!

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Originally posted by SupaStar
    Conan would be some other bloke...
    Lol, hello conanStar

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    10
    OOPS! sorry on the mix up guys!

    Thanks, EVERYONE!!!

    Cheers all.

  11. #11
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Originally posted by hanguker
    OOPS! sorry on the mix up guys!

    Thanks, EVERYONE!!!

    Cheers all.
    np...just having a laugh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •