Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: shutting down

  1. #1
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    Question shutting down

    anyone know howto stop XP from shutting down every time you try to do anythign memory intensive?


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    2 things:
    increase your pagefile size

    Buy more ram

    what specific application is causing the trouble?

  3. #3
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    under system properties then start up and recovery make sure that restart is unchecked



  4. #4
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    Exclamation odd,

    my page file is set to 768 mb, and my labtop can only handle 768 megs and i got er maxed, and that was the first thing i checked, the prob im gettin is it will just shutdown instantly, i even tryed battery doubler, to try fixz the autonmy of the battery, still shuts down, i even have a labtop cooler, 2 5400 rpm fans, on a alunuim stand, the program is vm ware workstation, it doesnt let me make .net server installs, and its not a slow shutdown its instant, not very good when ya trying to work =) thank the man upstairs for auto save every min,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Check your error logs and see if anything registers there..

    Post any errors you find.

    Also try the great suggestion by phishhead, to uncheck the autorestart in System Properties under startup and recovery option.


  6. #6
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    852

    tried it,

    that was one of the first things iv done when i installed xp pro with slipstreamed service pack, only thing im gettin is a 1 second shutdown, ill posat the errors i seem to be getting, once it happenesagain i lceared logs to get everything,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •