Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: could it be the power supply?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    88

    could it be the power supply?

    hi there.

    i am building a computer and i hooked up minimal stuff...harddrive, cdrom, keyboard, mouse.

    i am using a biostar m7ncd pro mobo and amd athlon xp 3200.

    when i power up the computer the power light on the HD and the Cd drive just freeze. i cant open my cdrom either. lights just hang. i can get into the bios, but my HD and Cd-drive arent recognized. i resetted the cmos and took out the battery, did all that, still the same. i changed cables from a puter that i KNOW werx and nuthing. same. l ghts freeze, cant open cddrive and drives arent recognized on bios.

    any ideas?

    let me know if there is sumthing you wanna know that i might have left out.

    thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Jumpers?

    Power Supply

    Power Supply Cables

    Motherboard.

    That is about all I can think of.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    88
    hmm, well..i checked jumpers. the jumpers on my drives are on cable select. i dont really know how to determine if its the motherboard, and im not sure how to tell if its the powercables...soo....

    *shrug* ill fool around with it summore....see what happens..

    if any of ya have any other ideas, pls let me know. thx.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    88
    well i switched the powersupply to one i know works and the HD light still hangs...and the bios still dont recognize the drive...

    so...motherboard bad? how common is motherboards Dead on Arrival?

    thanx

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    88
    ok...worked backwards...unhooked the vid card...then the lights didnt hang..noticed a jumper on the vidcard: pal/ntsc. well duh, im an american and it was on pal. switched it to the right one, ntsc. works fine! *sigh* thx for lendin yer here. heres to always bein in the learning mode!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    beebster,
    what kind of card is that? Never heard of a video card with a Jumper on the board. Interesting. Glad you got it worked out.
    :P

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    88
    yeah, i was as surprised as you...i dont know if theres sumthin up with these vidboards ive been buying..i mean 80$ for a 128 avi radeon 9200? does that sound right..*shrug*

    anways...its made by a company called powercolor, got it from newegg.com. yeah, a ntsc/pal jumper...*shrug* dunno.

    anyways, thx.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •