Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to Deploy a WINS server??

  1. #1
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406

    How to Deploy a WINS server??

    Hey guys. Here a have a tricky question. This should be easy, but it is not happening.
    The Wins server were I work is no more (Simple way, it DIED!)
    Database is corrupted, I cannot repaired.
    This shouldn't be a big problem. You can always delete the database and start over (C:\WINNT\System32\Wins) but I did it, and the service cannot start.
    I look in the registry to see if there are other instances of the databe, but there are none. I look for the jet+.log files, but there are none.
    So, I decided that WINS doesn't want to start in that server. I said to myself, alright, I use another server as the WINS server but.......
    I cannot add it. How do I add it??
    It is not a Windows component. I look in Technet, but I don't know why I found 0 articles about it.
    HELP??
    Last edited by Big Booger; February 8th, 2004 at 09:01 AM.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    What Windows version are you using.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    I am ashamed to say Windows NT 4.0 SP6 Server
    I also have another Windows 200 server (Powervault 725) but that is more like a NAS type.

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Try the instructions here http://www.windowsitlibrary.com/Content/155/09/1.html
    (scroll down to SETTING UP WINS SERVERS)

    Or here
    http://www.wown.info/j_helmig/rastcpip.htm
    (scroll down about 2/3 to the screenshot with Installation of WINS on Windows NT server: on it.)

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    TKS, I will try them As soon as I can, since I had been a bit busy as you can see. It only took me 3 days to answer

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1
    Wy don't you try a linux with samba? I have setup with Fedora Core 1 and it runs pretty fast.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •