Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Protowall: The Next Generation Peer Guardian

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    Protowall: The Next Generation Peer Guardian

    http://techfocus.org/comments.php?id=4339&catid=39

    ProtoWall is an app that is like PeerGuardian, but it will block much more. Thus far it will block Tcp-Ip/Udp/ICMP/IGMP and raw ip packets from entering or leaving your machine.

    The help file for this app is located at http://bluetack.co.uk/pwhelp

    Protowall is a driver-based blocking program that will be turning into a full firewall soon, but we wanted to release it as a alternative, due to the high memory usage that PeerGuardian has been experiencing with the last few builds.

    Get it at http://www.bluetack.co.uk/forums/index.php?showforum=18

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    And the verdict BB??

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    It uses far less resources. It seems to work but I have yet to see anyone test it.. Try it out. See what you think.

    Some other things I noticed, it continuously updates the IP ranges that it searches. It is more difficult to install than Peer Guardian, but with the online guide you can get it sorted in less than 2 minutes or so. It involves installing a driver in your network card properties.

    Hopefully the installer can be configured to automatically install that driver.. along with installing the program in the future.

    It does have a database updater built in.. that I do appreciate.

    If I think of anything else I will post it here.
    Last edited by Big Booger; February 5th, 2004 at 12:29 PM.

  4. #4
    My Name is.... TZ Veteran Stripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    live?
    Posts
    892
    This looks interesting. I'm not sure of any other application that actually works with the network card driver. Most typically just scan the incominig IP address.

    I'll give it a go tonight and see how it is

  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    You should call um RIAA and ask them to try to investigate your PC with the protowall working ?!

    LOL

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site
    You should call um RIAA and ask them to try to investigate your PC with the protowall working ?!

    LOL
    go ahead stripe be the beta tester for riaa.



  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Hmmm, maybe over my head. It just goes on and on allowing packets and not blocking anything. I have emule running, deleted Sygate rules, and disabled Sygate driver level protection.

    **edit - I spoke too soon - I have 3 blocks - Taiwan government - and they are "packet to" - UDP

    Last edited by lynchknot; February 5th, 2004 at 18:39 PM.

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    BB, what do you know about the block list manager. It advises the use of it. How to get?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Go to their website Lynch. They have loads of information on it. Baycom was blocked on my machine 30 times in the first hour I had it launched. Make sure you have updated the latest DB of blocked IPs.

  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Yes, I have hit the update button - then it recommends "block list manager" I will check site - thanks.

  11. #11
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Running on my PC as we speak. Uses far fewer resources than PeerGuardian, half the RAM (7MB) and only 1-2% of my CPU (PG used to use anywhere from 20-70%!!)

  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I'm seeing only 3,760K and 0-3% of cpu but it's probably not blocking anything at the moment (don't know if that makes a difference)

  13. #13
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    I was RDC from work at the time so there was a lot of data going in and out.

  14. #14
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    How far up have you guys set your, "log-o-meter"?

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274
    i need help with protowall every time i enable it it disconnects me and then i cant connect

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •