Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Windows XP UPdate

  1. #1
    Junior Member ladyhoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Windows XP UPdate

    For some reason I cannot get windows update to show on my husband's computer. I tried all the things I can think of and am hoping someone can come up with something I haven't thought of.
    Each time I try to get to windows update it comes up then say administrators only. I have tried even using the registry hack that windows gave us but that didn't work. He is listed as administrator since it is his computer. His is a Pentium 4 with 512 mb ram, a 60 gb Western Digital hard drive and an MSI motherboard. Any Ideas will be tried and I'll notify you if any of them work.
    Thank you
    Ladyhoss

  2. #2
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Is the machine just used as a home machine, or is it part of a company network.

  3. #3
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard
    Is the machine just used as a home machine, or is it part of a company network.

    I ask because if the machine is part of a company domain then it may be using the "domain policy".

    If so. you would need to login as the administrator using the <machine name>(local) option in the logon screen drop down box


    I've probably confused you further, so I apologise in advance

  4. #4
    Junior Member ladyhoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Windows XP Update

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard
    Is the machine just used as a home machine, or is it part of a company network.
    The machine is a home network with 2 computers on the network unless I use my laptop then it becomes 3. I can get windows update on mine but he can't get it on his.
    Ladyhoss

  5. #5
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Quote Originally Posted by ladyhoss
    The machine is a home network with 2 computers on the network unless I use my laptop then it becomes 3. I can get windows update on mine but he can't get it on his.
    Inside Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Local Security Policy

    There may or may not be references to Windows Update, offhand I can't remember which bit of it

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    I cannot access windows update as well and i suspect a virus

    my computer is really messed up and sygate wont give me internet unless i allow all

    i am going to format this thing
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    this is what i get


    Windows Update is the online extension of Windows that helps you get the most out of your computer.

    Windows Update uses ActiveX Controls and active scripting to display content correctly and to determine which updates apply to your computer.
    Tell me about active scripting and ActiveX controls

    To view and download updates for your computer, Windows Update should be listed as a Trusted Site in Internet Explorer.



    To add Windows Update to the trusted sites zone:
    1. On the Tools menu in Internet Explorer, click Internet Options.
    2. Click the Security tab.
    3. Click the Trusted Sites icon, and then click Sites...
    4. Uncheck the "require server verification" checkbox.
    5. Make sure the following URLs are listed in the Web Sites list box:
      • http://*.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
      • http://*.windowsupdate.com
    Note: If you need to add a URL to the Web Sites list and the Add button is disabled, contact your system administrator.


    2003 Microsoft Corporation. All rights
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Not sure if this is a similar problem but when using McAfee AV 8, as it uses ActiveX it needs to have the security settings in the 'Internet' zone...

    ActiveX controls and plug-ins/Download signed ActiveX controls (enabled)
    ActiveX controls and plug-ins/Script ActiveX controls marked safe for scripting (enabled)
    Scripting/Active scripting (enabled)

    And possibly
    Downloads/File Downloads (enabled)


    Seems like a slight security flaw if you ask me.
    Last edited by Coffee; February 10th, 2004 at 10:00 AM.
    Live long and prosper!

  9. #9
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Oh yeah by the way, if the problem still isn't fixed from the posts above. Does it return any errors when you try from the windows update site?...

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...en/default.asp
    Live long and prosper!

  10. #10
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by Coffee
    Oh yeah by the way, if the problem still isn't fixed from the posts above. Does it return any errors when you try from the windows update site?...

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...en/default.asp
    hey thanks

    i went to that site and it works great!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  11. #11
    Junior Member ladyhoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    hey thanks

    i went to that site and it works great!
    I still keep getting a page that says administrators only and he is the administrator!
    Ladyhoss

  12. #12
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Try the solution here "Administrators Only" Error Message When You Attempt to Use the Windows Update Site (apply the fix to all machines on the network.)

    From Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 316524
    When you attempt to use the Windows Update site, you may receive an error message similar to the following:

    Administrators Only

    To install items from Windows Update, you must be logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group. If your computer is connected to a network, network policy settings may also prevent you from completing this procedure...
    You receive this message even though you are already logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group.
    Last edited by Reverend; February 15th, 2004 at 09:59 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  13. #13
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Welcome to TZ Ladyhoss...Let us know if all this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •