Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: motherboard

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274

    motherboard

    how do i know how much of a cpu i can istall on my motherboard i want to upgrade to atleast a 2.0 ghz but i dont know if my motherboard supports it and i dont have the manual

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    You can tell us what MB you have or go to the MB manufacture website and find out. Maybe you just need a bios update ? maybe you don't.

  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    Biker, what do you curently have??
    PIII? Celeron?? What speed??
    Do you know your motherboard maker and model??
    use CPU-Z if you don't know (free app)
    Last, I donot normally recomend a CPU upgrade. You have to upgrade a lot more to make a real difference, and if you upgrade in the same category you won't have more than just a few MHz more. Upgrading from PIII to P4 is not possible and etc (Except with some converters, which add 50$ to your upgrade proyect

  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Biker why don't you chill out a bit, enjoy life for what it is now, when the new PCI express mother boards & video cards come out I'll be upgrading to AMD 64

    When I do I'll send you a Abit Nforce2, nice overclocking XP 2100 and 1gig of Kingston Hyper X ram.

    Now go work on your optical mouse pad, watch a movie or find a place to play real pool...lol

    BTW, yes thats *free* including shipping

  5. #5
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    Wow, man that equipment for me fits in high end. Pretty much what I am currently using and I upgraded to it not so long ago.
    That is a good offer

  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    and to think I'm still workin on a Celeron 300a...

  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    wow fastgame

    just want to say to you that you are truely a gentleman
    I think your generosity is something hard to find and very welcome to everyone new to the computer world and I would like to thank you for having me as a friend

    cheers
    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    so when are you gonna change that title to hardware pimp. I know your generousity has helped me out of quite a few jams.



  9. #9
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    so since youre being so nice can I have your 9800 pro...;-)



  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274
    i have fic az11 at 1 ghz with 256 ram

  11. #11
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    and to think I'm still workin on a Celeron 300a...
    I thought that I was using the slowest computer around. I am using a Duron overclocked to 892 MHz w/768 MB pc133 SDRAM.

    There is nothing that I do that requires a faster processor.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  12. #12
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    hey biker I would wait for fastgame to get his upgrade because he always comes thru.



  13. #13
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Sorry but there is no cpu upgrade beyond 1GB for the az11. I recently retired one. There is no bios update which limits upgrades.

    More -

    http://www.kahlon.com/rn14332_FIC_AZ11.html
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  14. #14
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    so since youre being so nice can I have your 9800 pro...;-)
    Now you know that when I upgrade my son gets my stuff, then I donate my sons stuff anyway the 9800 pro goes to the brat & there will be a 9600XT up for grabs

    @egghead, I'm happy that your my friend! how could I show my happiness towards you ??...hehe

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274
    ok thanx efc

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •