Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: My Cd-rom Doesn't Work After I Used The Restore Cd

  1. #1
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    Unhappy I accidently put 2 OS on my PC. I can't find the files on the 1st OS.

    My operating system, Windows XP broke. It said to use the restore CD. It

    couldn't repair itself. I accidently put 2 operating systems on the same

    computer. It put 2 Windows side by side. I can't get to my old files, data or

    music. I know they are there because they are taking up 22 GB on my hard

    drive. The hard drive did not partition. Does anyone know what to do??

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    I think you are sunk. You can put more than one OS on a computer as long as it is in separate partitions. Anyone have a suggestion
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    You can also do parallel installs within the same partition. Veronica, What directory did the second copy install into?


    [EDIT]
    To clarify, only 1 install of Windows would be accessible.
    Last edited by rik; January 21st, 2004 at 18:37 PM.

  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    You can also do parallel installs within the same partition. Veronica, What directory did the second copy install into?
    I don't know. Where do you find that out??
    Thanks for replying.

  5. #5
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    If you boot the system into DOS or have the ability to boot to a cd and open a DOS session you should be able to explore the root of the c: drive and you may see a C:\windows directory and a c:\winnt or something close to that...

    [EDIT]
    what might be easier...if you go to START|RUN MSCONFIG click on the BOOT.INI tab, if there are 2 installs of the OS it should show 2 differing lines under the [operating systems] entry.

    BTW, if this is a restore cd why do you think it installed a 2nd copy?
    Last edited by rik; January 21st, 2004 at 18:35 PM.

  6. #6
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Spot on rik,you beat me to it. I was gonna suggest looking at the boot.ini

    You can also access the boot.ini file in your C:\ directory if you have the following options set.

    In windows explorer > tools > folder options > view tab.

    enable "Show hidden files and folders" , and uncheck "Hide protected operating system files (recommended)".

    Paste the contents of your boot.ini here
    Last edited by Reverend; January 21st, 2004 at 18:48 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    2 great minds with but a single thought eh?

  8. #8
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    My Cd-rom Doesn't Work After I Used The Restore Cd

    I now have 2 operating systems on my PC [unintentional]. I also do not get

    sound. It erased some of my CD-RW program. It did not partition my PC. I

    uninstalled and reinstalled the CD drive to no avail. Please help. Thank you.

  9. #9
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Please try to install this generic cd-driver and see if you can get your cd back
    http://digilander.libero.it/pnavato/...p/APICD214.ZIP

    it sounds like you need to have the motherboard driver disk and thats why you do not have sound or cd

    Can you give us the motherboard model and or the name and model of your pc?

    thanks
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    Please try to install this generic cd-driver and see if you can get your cd back
    http://digilander.libero.it/pnavato/...p/APICD214.ZIP

    it sounds like you need to have the motherboard driver disk and thats why you do not have sound or cd

    Can you give us the motherboard model and or the name and model of your pc?

    thanks
    I downloaded your link. It did not fix it.

    My PC is a Gateway 300S. I bought it on 01/10/03.

    Where can I find the name of the motherboard???

    Thank you for trying. Any more advice will be greatly appreciated.

    I am not getting email notification when someone posts here. I have the email notification activated at the bottom.

  11. #11
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    If you have 2 installations of the OS on the system then I assume it gives you an option at boot of which one to use?

  12. #12
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    If you have 2 installations of the OS on the system then I assume it gives you an option at boot of which one to use?
    1 of the OS doesn't even boot. It's missing a file. I couldn't repair it. It

    installed a 2nd OS because I didn't know what else to do. Then my

    CD-Rom, sound and CD-RW software deleted. Thanks for the replies. Bump

    for a solution.

  13. #13
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    601
    Some Gateway PCs have a CD called "Restore CD". It is used to rstore your computer to its original condition. Did any CDs come with the PC? If yes, tell us what you have. If no, go to the gateway web site, support section, and order the CD. Most times they will send it to you free if you are the original owner of the PC. Its worth the cost of the telephone call (they often do not charge once you talk to them) and its worth the trouble of trying to diagnose everything.

    All you have to do with the Restore CD is put it in your CD drive and boot the system. A menu will allow you to do a full system restore to include new partition, format,installation of operating system, and all software. It will load the drivers for all your hardware, etc. However, all of your present data and any updates will be erased forever after the process is completed.

  14. #14
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by MSNwar
    Some Gateway PCs have a CD called "Restore CD". It is used to rstore your computer to its original condition. Did any CDs come with the PC? If yes, tell us what you have. If no, go to the gateway web site, support section, and order the CD. Most times they will send it to you free if you are the original owner of the PC. Its worth the cost of the telephone call (they often do not charge once you talk to them) and its worth the trouble of trying to diagnose everything.

    All you have to do with the Restore CD is put it in your CD drive and boot the system. A menu will allow you to do a full system restore to include new partition, format,installation of operating system, and all software. It will load the drivers for all your hardware, etc. However, all of your present data and any updates will be erased forever after the process is completed.
    I did that in the same partition. It erased my CD-ROM, sound and CD-RW software. I tried it again. The CD-ROM didn't work. It did not even read the restore CD. Should I use the driver CD too?? Thanks.

  15. #15
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    P.S. I didn't get a restore CD for my CD-RW software. It was Roxio Easy CD

    Creator. It was erased when I used the restore CD the 1st time. Thanks for

    the replies.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •