Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Difference in Download Speeds

  1. #1
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343

    Difference in Download Speeds

    My primary PC is now 25 kbps slower than my 2nd PC. Even if I remove the router connections and plug the DSL modem directly, I get the same speed. This is what prompted me in the past to reformat my primary rig but now the problem is back again.

    Just a while ago I restored an image I took last March 7 and the 1st speed test I took showed it equal with the 2nd PC. Now it has mysteriously slowed again in just a few minutes later without installing any software.

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    I would suggest SW to check the throughput of the NIC but don't know of any right off hand...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    could be the NICs.... try switching the faster one into the slower machine... see if that resolves it.. unless the NICs are the same???

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    could be the NICs.... try switching the faster one into the slower machine... see if that resolves it.. unless the NICs are the same???
    Can't do that cause my Asus has onboard Gigibit LAN while my MSI has a removable LAN card. Anyway I restored again to my image taken lat March 7 and it's working well now (cross fingers). I guess it's somehow software related.

  5. #5
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    601

  6. #6
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by MSNwar
    The 2 machines have identical MTU settings. I use Cable Nut to set them.

  7. #7
    Junior Member chloroform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Consular Operations HQ
    Posts
    17
    Try upgrading the firmware drivers on your ASUS maybe? Other than that, maybe tweaking some registry settings would help you out. Shot in the dark, but they're both worth a try if you havn't done this already.

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by chloroform
    Try upgrading the firmware drivers on your ASUS maybe? Other than that, maybe tweaking some registry settings would help you out. Shot in the dark, but they're both worth a try if you havn't done this already.
    It's not firmware related as it works just fine after a fresh format. But later down the road something affects it and it slows down a teeny bit.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    25kbps is like what 3KB at the most?

    Honestly I don't know why it would do that.. if both machines have the same software, same internet connection settings, same length cable???, the only possible explanation could be performance degradation due to the difference in NICs, one being onboard and the other not...


    Could be a glitch in the hardware? Could be interference from some external source?

    It's strange how it works at first and then slowly slows down... mmm

  10. #10
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    25kbps is like what 3KB at the most?

    Honestly I don't know why it would do that.. if both machines have the same software, same internet connection settings, same length cable???, the only possible explanation could be performance degradation due to the difference in NICs, one being onboard and the other not...


    Could be a glitch in the hardware? Could be interference from some external source?

    It's strange how it works at first and then slowly slows down... mmm
    Actually the 2nd PC has a 50 meter LAN cable while my primary PC has a 2 foot cable!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    what type of cables? Cat5, cat5e, cat6? The same type?

  12. #12
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    what type of cables? Cat5, cat5e, cat6? The same type?
    The short ones are CAT 5, the 50 meter one is CAT 5e. Does it make a difference? When I experienced this slowdown, I removed the router and plugged my primary PC into the DSL modem and there is no improvement.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    then that means it has to be the NIC.. there is no other explanation that I can think of. Unless it is a quirk in windows.. which it could be.

  14. #14
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    then that means it has to be the NIC.. there is no other explanation that I can think of. Unless it is a quirk in windows.. which it could be.
    I just found a newer driver for the NIC, gonna install it now.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    keep us informed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •