Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: amd driver

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    amd driver

    windows update says I need this driver: Advanced Micro Devices processor software update released on December 17 2002 - isn't that kinda old?

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    me too but I didnt download it.



  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    It is 6 months newer than what i've got now though

  4. #4
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    In that case, time to upgrade

    I've got it installed on my PC.

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Its for the XP Moble barton chips in laptops, think to make sure XP recognizes the L2 cache & PowerNow in the newer chips.

    Win update is givin you guys a hint..../@Newegg=Mobile barton+PC=you don't need a 64bit XP3200 yet

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Yeah, I heard the mobiles will overclock faster than the desktops

  7. #7
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Its for the XP Moble barton chips in laptops, think to make sure XP recognizes the L2 cache & PowerNow in the newer chips.

    Win update is givin you guys a hint..../@Newegg=Mobile barton+PC=you don't need a 64bit XP3200 yet
    This is soo tempting, stop putting subliminal posts up

    Its hard being a computer reseller too with wholesale prices

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Southern caves, LA.
    Posts
    14
    What driver is it though...if it's for laptops with the Barton chip then exactly what is it doing showing up in win Update for my ancient a$$ PC,, Ancient or not, why would win update say I need it.....I never did DL it and now it doesn't come up at all........go figure...I haven't changed annything on my system either...
    Last edited by MrDak; May 29th, 2004 at 01:57 AM.
    AthlonXP 2400+
    msiK7T turbo
    FX5900 flashed to 5950U
    Audigy2ZS
    1gb pc 133
    XP home

  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    @MrDak, that driver is just a generic patch for AMD CPU's. Win update detected that your running AMD so it showed the driver.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;815624

    I didn't get the driver and it quit showing up for me also
    Last edited by FastGame; May 29th, 2004 at 12:37 PM.

  10. #10
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I personally wouldn't install any driver updates that shows up in Windows Update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •