Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cloning Windows XP

  1. #1
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406

    Cloning Windows XP

    From PC stats
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=418
    PCstats has previously covered a handful of disk cloning software programs which are useful for the purpose of backing up your data by making an identical copy of your hard disk. If you upgrade your operating system hard disk, chances are the new one will be both faster and larger than your original disk. Trouble is, WindowsXP can't just be copied over from your old drive to the new one. There are essential files which will not be created on the new disk if you try this. So what to do

  2. #2
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    looks like they talk about Norton Ghost but Drive Image says it can make a copy of you HD.

  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    well, yes. They are just tools. I don't think it really does matter which one you use

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    gotta say the new drive image is awesome just imaged a co-workers pc with the new version and it does it on the fly without rebooting. You can also schedule incremental backups. Only thing is it didnt ask to create rescue floppies or cd. So how do you reimage if you can get to your desktop?



  5. #5
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    So how do you reimage if you can get to your desktop?
    You mean with Ghost? You have to have a computer running the ghost admin.
    Or from there you can create a floppy boot disk (from the floppy boot disk wizard )

  6. #6
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    So how do you reimage if you can get to your desktop?
    You boot from the Drive Image CD and it makes a recovery environment from which you can restore the images. Which version are you using?

    I love it. My XP Pro installation can be restored in about 4 or 5 minutes (from disk to disk).

  7. #7
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    How did you make the DriveImage Boot CD, I was only able to install the Window App, and couldnt see options to create a CD ? hmm... well norton ghost 2003 does the trick for me

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •