Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Network logon to my Laptop disabled?

  1. #1
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190

    Network logon to my Laptop disabled?

    Been given a new Laptop from work and just been messin around trying to share some files and come up with something a bit odd. The Logon dialog shows the user as Guest but has been disabled from change although i can enter a pass for it, but i've not got the account enabled. Can't seem to find anything obviouse in the local sec policy that may be blocking me from changing the user either so i'm really stuck on what it could be.

    Any suggestions?


    Coffee.
    Live long and prosper!

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Coffee,

    Did you ever find a solution to this problem? If you have, please post it to help someone else.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Nope, still not found a fix.
    Live long and prosper!

  4. #4
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Let's see if we can get some action here. This is not my best area, but someone here at TZ will have an answer. Start by providing the following:

    OS:
    Type Network:
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    xp home can not connect to a domain could it be home edition.



  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    xp home can not connect to a domain could it be home edition.
    Thats why I asked the question. With the info we have so far, it could even be win98 or ME.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  7. #7
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    Ah yeh sorry. ;-P
    OS is XP.
    Live long and prosper!

  8. #8
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    pro or home with networking that makes a huge difference.



  9. #9
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    wh00ps, XP Pro SP1a.
    Thing is i may be re-installing windows soon, so not too worry too much about finding an answer, although i guess it's an interesting question to answer.

    Coffee.
    Live long and prosper!

  10. #10
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Has the computer and user been added to the Domain in Active Directory?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  11. #11
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    This is a slightly late reply but just incase someone else might read this the problem was actually quite easy to sort out. All that was needed was to properly configure the GPO, security permissions & disable anonymous logons.

    Coffee.
    (I think)
    Live long and prosper!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •