Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Antivirus tester

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    Antivirus tester

    oh no! Kaspersky fails all four tests! : http://www.damselsoft.freeservers.com/

    Direct download: ftp://ftp.externet.hu/pub/mirror/sac/avir/avtst30.zip
    Last edited by lynchknot; May 3rd, 2004 at 17:32 PM.

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    LoL....I'll test out Mcafee soon.

  3. #3
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Nah something is wrong. My VET AV at work failed all four tests as well!! Yet it just detected and cleaned NetSky and MyDoom Virus!! There may be a setting we need to choose to get it working correctly... or this is a trojan

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    I understand Lynch, as my VET fails too, however, when I manually did the EICAR test, ie create a virus infected txt file. my VET picked it up asap!! so there must be some setting we have not set correctly. And perhaps that other website made same mistake.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site
    Nah something is wrong. My VET AV at work failed all four tests as well!! Yet it just detected and cleaned NetSky and MyDoom Virus!! There may be a setting we need to choose to get it working correctly... or this is a trojan
    If your AV fails then you now have the trojan, worm and virus that virus checker gave you

    My NAV and AVG passed the test but then again I knew they would

  7. #7
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Suck it and see boys

    Mcafee is the sh*t! 7.0 Enterprise here at work. Message popped up the instant installation finished and the EXE was auto deleted as per my settings.

  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    If your AV fails then you now have the trojan, worm and virus that virus checker gave you

    My NAV and AVG passed the test but then again I knew they would
    Ooppss... Oh well.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Nod32 flunked all tests as well..

    AVG worked. Am trying McAfee soon

  10. #10
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    McAfee VirusScan 8 pulling it's weight:

  11. #11
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    I'm with supastar...mcafee 8.0pro and 7.03 corp wouldn't even let me install it. I'm sold mcafee is the only av on my pcs for now on.



  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    How reputable is this relatively unknown tester anyway - going up against large well known AV's with heavy reputations such as Kaspersky (which is known to be one of the best) This completely destroys Kaspersky’s well known and documented reputation that independent security sites, and the like, have tested against other AV's thorough.

  13. #13
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by lynchknot
    How reputable is this relatively unknown tester anyway
    I think you should quit messing with this kind of stuff. I know that after I ran those test NAV found a back door trojan that I know I didn't have before the test....and it didn't find it in the test or Auto Protect, it was only after I ran a full system scan

    Anything that is FREE and can attract the attention of people through the *pose* of testing security is potentially a threat. Be careful because virus writers are smart with tricks

  14. #14
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I sent the tester to KAV - here is their response - LOL

    Subj: RE: New virus [KLAB-207021]
    Date: Tuesday, May 4, 2004 2:36 PM
    From: newvirus@kaspersky.com
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Hello,

    it's a clean AntiVirus Tester v3.0. It's okay that KAV gives a warning on it.

    --
    Regards, Alisa Shevchenko
    Virus Analyst, Kaspersky Lab.

    Ph.: +7(095) 797-8700
    E-mail: newvirus@kaspersky.com
    http://www.kaspersky.com http://www.viruslist.com

    > Attachment: analysis.dat
    Last edited by lynchknot; May 5th, 2004 at 00:21 AM.

  15. #15
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Anything that is FREE and can attract the attention of people through the *pose* of testing security is potentially a threat. Be careful because virus writers are smart with tricks
    If with FG here, however my full system scan came up clean. Looks like that worm was already there

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •