Thread: My Xoops

My Xoops

I have had my website for about 4 years. The first 3 years were with static pages. I rarely updated the site because I had to recode everything.

Next I tried Mambo. It was pretty cool, but while editing a news item, it logged me out in the background and 45 minutes worth of writing was lost. I uninstalled it right after that.

Now I use Xoops. Not quite as simple as mambo, but lots of good modules.
    The Newbb2 forum I just installed has lots of nice features.

Anyone else here use Xoops? And your thoughts about it?

My website URL is in my sig.

TODO's for now,

Customize a theme for my site (using a premade one for now.)

Trim dow the modules on the front page (since I am new to this, trying them all right now .)

But overall, it makes adding content much easier. And that makes me happy.

Titanium Member
    Nice site. I would be completely lost using an app to create a website. My first site was a copy paste source of another and changing all the links and images to mine. I wish I knew XHTML so I could convert my website but I don't know much html as it is. It would be nice if it were possible for an app to create perfect xhtml just entering your site's URL.
    Last edited by lynchknot; November 19th, 2004 at 08:25 AM.

Acually, it makes it much easier. You just type the info, format the text and post. Sort of like a blog.

And all links, even to pictures are done automajikly.

Titanium Member
    That style is not really usable for my type of site though. (it appears, but I'm usually wrong! )

The theme I am using now is just something that I found that caught my eye and used it. I want to customize a complete theme for my site eventually and make it unique.

Some of the theme developers are working on a tableless design, which is something I would be interested in. Also standards compliant (although hard to obtain in Xoops, but possible.)

Titanium Member