Thread: Screen Flickers

Screen Flickers

Hi everybody, newbie here, first post.

I have a problem with Windows XP and Im wondering if anybody can help me cuz the fools at Dell obviously cant.

I got a pc from Dell about 1 year and 2 months ago. Approximatley 1 month after my warranty expired Windows XP started acting up. Isnt that a trip. Anyway, the problem Im having is that after I start up my pc, and I reach my desktop, my monitor starts flickering and there are thin horizontal lines across my screen. Sometimes it goes on for about 5 or 6minutes and then it stops. Other times I have to restart and then the lines go away. The flickering and lines usually appear after the pc had been off overnight.

I have called Dell a million times and according to them, my pc is working fine, there are no problems with my monitor it's an 17 inch LCD ( it's new, they had to send me a new one cuz the one I ordered with the pc crapped out after 1 year) and my video card is fine. Theitechs said that it was a problem with Windows XP, that it was corrupted or something. They had me recover it, that didnt fix the problem, then I had to uninstall Windows XP and then reinstall it, still didnt fix the problem. I have no idea what to do now.

I dont believe its a problem with Windows XP, I think Dell sent me a lemon. But if it is truly a Windows XP issue does anyone have any idea what I should do? I would really appreciate some help because Im going insane. I paid alot for this pc, as Im sure you guys paid for yours. I just think tell just took me for a grand.

Thanks for any response

Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Try reducing the screen resolution from 32 bit to 16 bit and see if that makes any difference.

Also try different refresh rates. Perhaps your monitor is flickering because the refresh rate is too high... or too low.

Right-click anywhere on your desktop.

Select Properties.

Select the Settings tab.

Click the Advanced button.