Thread: Website building software

Website building questions.....

Which website software (if any) do you recommend/use to create a site? I'm new to creating websites and scrolling thru the threads in this forum, it appears many of you are writing your own scripts. Aside from what most hosting sites offer, I'd like to implement my own 'touch'.

Heard of Dreamweaver, but am yet to use it. Guess I'll go to their site and have a look.

Other than space, what other limitations come with free hosting sites?

I also read a thread concerning issues with GoDaddy. Is this the norm with the majority of the hosting sites? Are they really guilty of false advertising just to get your business?

So many questions....

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

FBM357

P.S. If it helps, I'm creating a website for my wife as a point to promote her business (people are asking for a website when given a bus. card) .. Nothing too extravagant
    Last edited by FBM357; August 29th, 2008 at 16:24 PM.
    "If you want SQUARE work, you DON'T CUT CORNERS!!!!"

It all depends on what kind of website you want to build. The more in depth the website is, the more skills you need. Basic websites, you might wanna look for WYSIWYG editors, for they are the most simple to do web work with. If your getting into flash, that takes a bit of time to learn. There are programs like INCREDIFLash that will put a nifty site together for you, with a few fill in the blanks.

You can also find scriptlets (aka shopping cart) which you can incorperate into your website. Though then you need a database and stuff for them to work, so they can be a pain in the rear.

Though if your new, you should probably just go with an online generator, and let it create the layout of your page. Then once its setup, you can go in and edit it to give it your so called personal tough.