Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 38

Thread: Adobe Flash won't install

  1. #16
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    If phish's suggestion doesn't solve it, try the solution here
    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/494/cpsid_49419.html (scroll down for solution)

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  2. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    I have uniblue registry booster already on my machine - will it do the job or do I need filehippo ???

  3. #18
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,528
    filehippo is just the site to get the tools. I feel that ccleaner is a must have. cleans out temp files and fixes registry errors in one free app.



  4. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    I downloaded and used ccleaner & still nothing

  5. #20
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    Follow my instructions in the previous post here http://www.techzonez.com/forums/show...9&postcount=16

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    I don't feel comforable messing with the registry - do you think I should call my local fix it guy ???

  7. #22
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    Did Ccleaner find a lot of redundant/corrupted files when you ran it?

    If it did, presumably you did delete them. One of the things Ccleaner does is removes files,etc that are incorrectly installed/registered. When you open Ccleaner click on the Registry button in the left hand pane and then click the 'Scan for Issues' button at the bottom. When it has finished analysing the registry click the 'Fix selected issues' button. It will ask if you want to backup the registry. Choose Yes or No (its up to you).

    After doing all the above, try installing flash again from here http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

    When installed find out what version you have here http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    When I install Flash - I get the error message that the instalation has failed !

  9. #24
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,528
    might want to do an aggressive uninstall using Windows Installer CleanUp Utility which can be found here.
    http://majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4459



  10. #25
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    Reset, Repair or reinstall IE8. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318378

    Alternatively follow the Adobe troubleshooting page here http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/191/tn_19166.html

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    I reinstalled IE 8 and still nothing so now I will work on Adobe troubleshooting

  12. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    adobe trouble shooting said to try Flash on Firefox and it worked - does help you any !!!!!

  13. #28
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs and delete all references to Adobe Flash. (Normally 2 entries listed as Flash Player Active X and Flash Player Plugin).

    When you have tried to download flash from here you say it will not install.

    http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

    What error exactly are you getting that tells you it isn't installed?

    Note: make sure you are using IE when installing it from that link above and not running Firefox at the same time.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  14. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Now I am not getting a error message !!!
    I deleted both the adobe flash programs and re-installed adobe flash - in the list of installed programs there is no size associated with adobe Flash

  15. #30
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,339
    There will not be any size listed because it is basically just an active x plugin.

    So is Flash working now or not?

    What version does it say you have installed when you go here http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •