Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Adobe Flash won't install

  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Flash is not working
    I have version 10.2

  2. #32
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,379
    Well flash is definately on your system because it is listed in Add/Remove.

    Open IE and go to Tools > Internet Options.

    On the Security tab click the Custom Level button.

    On the Custom Settings drop down menu select Medium and click the Reset button. If a warning message appears click Yes.

    Then click OK > Apply > OK.

    Close IE and reopen it.

    Now try a flash page.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    I reset it to medium but when I re-open IE the setting is back to Medium-High

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    Sorry - it is now set to medium but still now flash player

  5. #35
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,379
    Presumably you have antivirus installed. It may be an over sensitive anti virus causing a security problem that is preventing flash from being utilised.

    Temporarily disable your AV and try the flash sites.

    Failing that the only other option is to follow the instructions here http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/494/cpsid_49419.html

    I know you said previously you are worried about editing the registry but if you create a restore point first you will have the peace of mind that you can recall the restore point if it doesn't fix it.

    To create a restore point go to Programs > Accesories > Sysytem Tools > System Restore

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    In my manage add -ons window - adobe flash is not listed

  7. #37
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Don Jane View Post
    In my manage add -ons window - adobe flash is not listed
    Shockwave Flash Object - enable

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #38
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,556
    Good work Rev, I wonder where Don is from, perhaps it could be a starter edition of windows, or some regional issue.

    Im assuming they have exited IE before trying to install Flash. I would try the full uninstall again, and then just go to adobe.com/flash and theoretically it should detect the missing activeX and pop-up to allow the installation.

    Also, is there Spybot running with the IE lockdown.

    Very interest case though.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •