WhatsApp is adding new functionality to its disappearing messages feature, which lets users set messages in a chat to automatically be deleted after a set period of time. WhatsApp says users will now have the option to turn on disappearing messages automatically for all their new one-on-one chats, so that all future messages will be automatically deleted from the service.

The Meta-owned messaging service also says itís giving users more options for how long before a message is deleted. When the feature first launched in November last year, users only had the option of having messages disappear after seven days. Going forward, however, there will also be the option of deleting them after just 24 hours or 90 days. The new functionality was previously reported as being in development by WABetaInfo.

WhatsApp notes that turning on disappearing messages by default wonít affect existing chats. When you start a new one-on-one chat, a notice will appear to say that the disappearing messages feature is turned on, alongside a note that says itís on by default (so your contacts donít think itís anything personal). You also have the option of turning the setting off for individual chats.

Although the new default setting doesnít affect group chats, WhatsApp says itís added a new option when creating groups to let you enable the disappearing messages feature.

WhatsApp says the new features are available now across all platforms. Instructions for how to use them3m4 can be found in WhatsAppís FAQ.

The Verge